Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2016, 07:17 AM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 363
Default Rolling back

For me, 12.6 is not ready. So I'm rolling back to 12.5.2. The irony is that my support and upgrade plan expires in 2 weeks. Is it worth it? I paid $399 for two updates, a X.1 and X.2, more a service update and .6 update that is for the most part unusable. A slow divorce? We'll see.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2016, 07:26 AM
bradleym2004 bradleym2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dorchester, UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: Rolling back

There are plenty of people here considering the same thing. Ditching the upgrade plan, and sticking with the version which is the most stable (for me 12.5.2).

The upgrades just aren't worth it. So little innovation. So, I'm letting my plan expire.

Save some money, and go make music.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2016, 08:27 AM
audioman1973 audioman1973 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wilmington, OH
Posts: 207
Default Re: Rolling back

I have been a Pro Tools and Media Composer user now for quite some time. Since PT 6.9. I did the first t 2 classes and became a PT10 certified user. The fact that Avid doesn't fix the things that are wrong with the software for release after release is wearing me down. I have gotten past the point of continually hoping they are going to take care of issues that should have been fixed long ago. And now once again the issue of having to deal with not getting the new licenses deposited to my ilok as they should have been. This is not the first time either. Yes I started a case and they deposited a temporary license but I'm sorry that isn't good enough. I didn't even transfer it onto my ilok and I'm not going to. My account states that I am paid until in 2017 so what else do you need to know to give me the licenses. Don't need the hassle. No more money for Avid from me. A word of advice. You should already realize if this continues sooner or later you will have no customers but the few that have no other choice because of their business.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.7.1, 2 X UA Apollo x8p TB3 and TB3 Octo Satellite with UAD Plugins. Various Avid Sonnox Flux Drumagog and Plugin Alliance plugins. Motu MIDI Express 128, Windows 10 Pro, Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH motherboard, 64 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, Intel i7 6700k, Samsung 950 M2 OS drive and 2 X Samsung SSD plus spinner drives

Last edited by audioman1973; 10-07-2016 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Spelling correction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2016, 09:31 AM
strangepumpkin strangepumpkin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Default Re: Rolling back

I'm running 12.6 without issue. Haven't had a crash since the update.
__________________
Kyle Whittaker
www.strangepumpkin.ca

Mac Pro (2013)
3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32 GB Memory
OS X 10.12.6

PT 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2016, 12:50 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 991
Default Re: Rolling back

I think I'll wait to upgrade. 12.4 running fine here.

BTW, do you know where I can fins Pro Tools 12.4 installer? On my account I just can see 12.5 and 12.6...
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Hackintosh, 3,7 GHz 10-Core Intel i9, 64 GB 3200 MHz DDR4, OSX Catalina 10.15.7, PT HDX 2021.6, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard

Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2016, 01:19 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: Rolling back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
I think I'll wait to upgrade. 12.4 running fine here.

BTW, do you know where I can fins Pro Tools 12.4 installer? On my account I just can see 12.5 and 12.6...


Start a support case, they will get a download for you.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2016, 02:07 PM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 314
Default Re: Rolling back

I'm stopping at 12.5.2 too. I'm Pro Tools compatible, it's got offline bounce. Thats whats up. Not much more. Look at 12.6, what do you get? Crippled clip fx (no third party inserts) which the rest of the DAWs had for 10 years. Passion and innovation, maybe no the first tow words that spring to mind when thinking of AVID :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2016, 02:36 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 991
Default Re: Rolling back

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Start a support case, they will get a download for you.
Thanks!
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Hackintosh, 3,7 GHz 10-Core Intel i9, 64 GB 3200 MHz DDR4, OSX Catalina 10.15.7, PT HDX 2021.6, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard

Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rolling back jeff5x0 Windows 4 05-01-2012 07:39 PM
Rolling back firmware on SYNC HD nasher99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-02-2010 10:41 AM
Rolling back to 8.03 - Win7x64 or Vista32? MikeLip 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-20-2010 08:15 AM
>> Rolling back and forth between PT 7.3.1 and 7.4 Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-23-2007 11:40 PM
Error after rolling back to 12.5 Pro Tools 12 0 12-31-1969 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com