Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2015, 03:35 AM
Jakay Jakay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 147
Default Edit window visual clipping and audio clipping question...

I'm just curious about how PTs displays the waveform and how it actually handles it. I was recording some vocals and thought I had the level set properly, but as I was performing I got gradually louder (well... I was actually full on yelling by the end haha) and because for no great reason the recording track doesn't leave any clip level markers like it does on every other track, I had no idea I'd gone up into clipping range.

Ideally I aim for my meter to top about halfway through the yellow zone, but this was not the case. But it isn't into the red zone of death yet. Just topping out at -3 or whatever. But when I zoom in on the clip, the top of it is pancake flat in spots, and it isn't waveform zoom doing this either.

So is it actually being clipped? It sounds okay, and it's not flipping the red light not so fantastic, so I guess it's not that bad either way, but I'm kind of disturbed by this. I really shouldn't have sang that song the way I did, so I'd really rather not go back for any more takes unless I really genuinely should.

*when I say it sounds okay, I didn't notice and clicks and pops yet, but I haven't gone and really listened through everything yet either, there's a lot of takes to sift through.
__________________
Half in my head, half out of my mind - jakay.ca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2015, 05:48 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,593
Default Re: Edit window visual clipping and audio clipping question...

Your pre clipped.

What interface? A/D? Some have a soft clip feature.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2015, 04:32 PM
Jakay Jakay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 147
Default Re: Edit window visual clipping and audio clipping question...

Ah yes, that would be it.

My pre is just from the regular ol Mbox 3rd gen, and I was under the impression that it synced up with PT well enough to rely on the PT metering, but I suppose that isn't the case.

Oh well, live and learn. I guess I should start flipping the soft limiter on more often, although it seems like it was somehow already on in hindsight.

Thanks
__________________
Half in my head, half out of my mind - jakay.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2015, 06:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,794
Default Re: Edit window visual clipping and audio clipping question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakay View Post
Ah yes, that would be it.

My pre is just from the regular ol Mbox 3rd gen, and I was under the impression that it synced up with PT well enough to rely on the PT metering, but I suppose that isn't the case.

Oh well, live and learn. I guess I should start flipping the soft limiter on more often, although it seems like it was somehow already on in hindsight.

Thanks
Remember that metering in PT does not show what's going on at the input of the AD converter and that's why if you clip the input of a mic pre it won't necessarily show in PT.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2015, 07:52 PM
senditdirect senditdirect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 1
Default Re: Edit window visual clipping and audio clipping question...

My problem is similar to the one in this thread.
Our church records our Sunday services every week to a PIX 270i recorder. I import the audio from the PIX to ProTools 12 weekly. There are aprox 30 audio channels. Levels on the PIX are averaging -25db with no visible clipping during the service. Once imported into PT12, I end up with clipped waveforms even though waveforms are quite small with plenty of headroom. Our PIX recorder is getting its audio feed from a Yamaha M7. The Yamaha M7 is being used for the live house mix but a technician that put the system together has indicated that the audio going to the PIX via Dante cards are not being affected by the M7. Why am I getting clipped audio?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 Clipping question serraprop Pro Tools 10 0 01-18-2013 06:38 PM
Clipping question bryced87 Pro Tools 9 4 10-10-2011 09:31 AM
Accuracy of audio clipping in edit window jefloiseau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-25-2010 03:29 AM
How much clipping is good clipping ? jaunmanuek The Drum Room 9 04-12-2010 05:49 PM
question about clipping kindkind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-30-2005 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com