Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:55 AM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 716
Default Need XMON help - RESOLVED

I just acquired an original DCONTROL in 16 channel config. I love it. Really made way more difference to my mixes than I thought it could. Huge fan.

BUT!

My XMON appears to have an issue with the stereo inputs right side. i.e. 2,4,6,8 or 1R, 2R, 3R, 4R and not passing audio. I know my cabling is good. The same cable feeds the main inputs correctly. And fed my old Control 24 correctly. Digi made D25 cables too.

Digi have given me an RMA and a $500 repair price. NO ADVANCE REPLACEMENT AVAILABLE. This is terrible news. To get this fixed means 2 weeks without ICON - UNACCEPTABLE to me. SO -

Does anyone have a spare XMON I could rent, borrow, buy in the meantime?

Hopefully, Ainslie
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2020.9, S3, Dock.

Last edited by AINSLIE; 05-31-2012 at 10:05 AM. Reason: Question resolved
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2012, 02:44 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,570
Default Re: Need XMON help

Quote:
Originally Posted by AINSLIE View Post
My XMON appears to have an issue with the stereo inputs right side. i.e. 2,4,6,8 or 1R, 2R, 3R, 4R and not passing audio. I know my cabling is good. The same cable feeds the main inputs correctly. And fed my old Control 24 correctly. Digi made D25 cables too.
What do you mean by this? Are you trying to use the stereo inputs on the X-Mon for monitoring other stereo sources? If so, you need to know that the X-Mon is wired for L-R on 1-5 not 1-2. You need to rewire your setup so that your monitoring is coming off of channels 1 & 5 to be able to get both left and right from the stereo inputs.

You can either modify all of your Pro Tools sessions in the I/O setup to send L-R out of 1-5 on the interface to the X-Mon, or you can cross-patch 1-2 output from the interface to 1-5 input on the X-Mon. Either way would require the monitor speakers to be on 1-5 from the X-Mon.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2012, 09:02 AM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 716
Default Re: Need XMON help

The 1-5 for LR is true of the Main and Surround DSUB25 inputs on the rear of the XMON. These are working correctly. That is not the input I am speaking of. I am talking about the Stereo sources input connector above the power connector on the rear of the XMON. This is not wired in the same way as the MAIN and SURROUND inputs are wired. Check this document to see exactly the wiring of the (4) Stereo Inputs on a single DSUB25:

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...itor_44751.pdf
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2020.9, S3, Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2012, 09:05 AM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 716
Default Re: Need XMON help

It drives me nuts that they expect me to do without it for up to 2 weeks. This is not the kind of service befitting a product of this level. I cant even buy expedited service, shipping return method, OR even rent one.

How are you ICON owners putting up with this? Is this AVID sucking once Digi was folded in? Is this what to expect now.

Very dissapointed. HELP anyone? Got an XMON to rent / buy?
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2020.9, S3, Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-31-2012, 09:30 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,570
Default Re: Need XMON help

Quote:
Originally Posted by AINSLIE View Post
The 1-5 for LR is true of the Main and Surround DSUB25 inputs on the rear of the XMON. These are working correctly. That is not the input I am speaking of. I am talking about the Stereo sources input connector above the power connector on the rear of the XMON. This is not wired in the same way as the MAIN and SURROUND inputs are wired. Check this document to see exactly the wiring of the (4) Stereo Inputs on a single DSUB25:

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...itor_44751.pdf
I don't think you quite understood me. The stereo sources inputs are only routed out the Main and Alt outputs as 1-left & 5-right and will not work for you if you don't monitor from 1-left & 5-right as your left-right. If you already are monitoring from 1-left 5-right, then you are correct, you have a problem.

But, I've diagnosed and solved this very problem 3 different times where stereo sources were absent on the right and every single time the solution was to change which output channels were being used from both the Main and Alt outputs on the X-Mon.

So again, to use the stereo inputs (1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8) you must have 1 & 5 wired to your monitors from either the Main or Alt outs. When this is the case, then to also get L-R out of Pro Tools, you must either re-route in the I/O setup or cross-patch the cabling between the interface and the main X-Mon inputs.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2012, 10:04 AM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 716
Default Re: Need XMON help

Jimmy,

Thankyou so much for bearing with me. You are of course correct. The hardware outs of the DCONTROL are where my issue was. Not in inputs, or I/O configuration. Now thanks to your patience in pushing back on this it is solved and my ignorance on the topic has been somewhat beaten down. Your good deed is deeply appreciated ..

Ainslie
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2020.9, S3, Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-31-2012, 10:45 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,570
Default Re: Need XMON help

You're welcome.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-31-2012, 12:08 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Need XMON help

know anyone else in town with a XMON that would let you do a swap test with? (yours there and theirs at your place)

I've been bitten by the speaker Solo/Mutes before

I do suspect a cabling problem, of the 10 or so I've put in not one XMON problem that wasn't cable or user
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:51 PM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 716
Default

Should anyone else ever search this and find this thread here's the key. Stereo inputs feed XMON outputs 1(L) and 5(R). This is not configurable on the desk or in PT. it's hard wired in the console / XMON combo.

So - I still use my existing I/O setups in PT to feed the stereo ins in the way I am choosing to use it (allows me to A/B quickly between stereo files). It's just the XMON outputs, and the Monitor section on the DCONTROL that need to be understood.

Yep. All working great. The world is stereo again. Till my next 5.1 ..
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2020.9, S3, Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-31-2012, 11:51 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Need XMON help

yes, I always custom wire XMONs in SMPTE/ITU L,R,C,Lfe,Ls,Rs
using DTS L,Ls,C,Rs,R,Lfe was plain stupid
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old XMon on S6? paulo m Avid S6 15 08-20-2014 03:22 AM
Xmon?? bstroner ICON & C|24 5 04-01-2009 05:47 PM
XMON for your DAW Mike Landolt General Discussion 1 04-13-2006 03:04 PM
XMON tstemland ICON & C|24 2 03-23-2006 02:00 PM
XMON OKN ICON & C|24 2 01-27-2006 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com