Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2021, 12:00 AM
gub gub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Patch, Australia
Posts: 68
Default PT session from a T5 SSD

Has anyone had issues with running/writing/producing a PT session from a Samsung T5 SSD?


Thanks
G
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2021, 03:34 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,614
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Never used one, but I was immediately suspicious when I looked up the drive and read about "built-in encryption". This is a red-flag in my book, even though they claim it doesn't affect performance.

This reddit thread makes for an interesting read:
https://www.reddit.com/r/VeraCrypt/c...encryption_on/

Did you enable/disable encryption, or reformat the drive when purchased new for your system ? mac or pc ?

I always reformat a new drive myself (Mac OS Extended Journaled). I then disable Spotlight indexing on any audio drive. (I use 3rd party apps for searching drives).

After opening a session, do you wait for your entire session to buffer into RAM before hitting play ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2021, 03:54 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 55
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

The T5 is pretty straight-forward and there's no need to run encryption on it.
The T7 has some fingerprint security mechanism which is probably best avoided.

The T5 is a USB disk and pretty fast, provided you connect it to a fast USB port which isn't suffering from any contention. I'll let you use the excellent Wikipedia page to determine if you are actuallly using a fast USB port - things are not always obvious. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB

Internal SSD is generally more reliable - no cables to go bad, no connectors to wear out etc, but plenty of people run video editing sessions from external drives without trouble. I personally prefer to copy everything to internal SSD and then copy the sessions out to external disk for backup and transfer, but I don't work with video and I'm never in a hurry.

There were some issues with T5 disks and CCC at one point, but these have been overcome with updates to CCC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2021, 07:22 AM
RichR RichR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 16
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Has anyone had issues with running/writing/producing a PT session from a Samsung T5 SSD?


I've used them exclusively for the last few years. Never had a single problem. Mixing only though. Big sessions, not a glitch. I always run them off a dedicated USB port. They're super portable for taking sessions between studio and home. No power supplies. Would highly recommend.
Haven't tried the T7 model yet.

Last edited by RichR; 02-19-2021 at 07:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2021, 08:29 AM
boomspot boomspot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 36
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Running T5 and T7 drives as main sample library and recording session drives. Never an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2021, 08:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,139
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

If it is USB3 drive your throughput is determined by that buss. Does not matter if the SSD would transfer terabyte a second, it is limited by USB3. That is enough for plenty, but there are other options for more performance once you need it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2021, 10:41 AM
11miles 11miles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 121
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Using it for over a year now.
Flawless so far
__________________
...me failing english? That's Unpossible
_____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2021, 12:41 AM
gub gub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Patch, Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Thank you for the feedback
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2021, 12:16 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 487
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

I have a mix of T3, T5 and T7 now. It's all I've worked off of for several years. Zero issues with any of them.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2021, 06:08 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 816
Default Re: PT session from a T5 SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If it is USB3 drive your throughput is determined by that buss. Does not matter if the SSD would transfer terabyte a second, it is limited by USB3. That is enough for plenty, but there are other options for more performance once you need it.
Agreed. It's great to have SSD portability when it's needed, but when it's not, I'd much rather work with PCie nvme's for their superior performance.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recover corrupt session (session backups or importing session data not working) ejsalling Pro Tools 2018 5 04-28-2021 03:54 PM
Save session, close session, open session next day...clips have moved. ptr22 Pro Tools 12 8 02-18-2016 06:34 AM
Audio Files Moved or Removed from Session after Saving Session Copy for Protools 9 doubtful guest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-06-2013 03:42 AM
Vacuum patch gets shorter decay time at 96kHz session than 192kHz session chrisdee Virtual Instruments 21 10-07-2011 10:02 AM
End of Stream Reached - session broken - import session data does not work... Sean Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-15-2010 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com