Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-1999, 11:30 AM
gqkelly gqkelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90045
Posts: 17
Default No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

I just purchased the Mac OS 8.5 upgrade and would like to know is there any way that I can access the "Sound" control panel that was accessible through the OS 8.1 control panels? Is there anything that I am doing wrong, or is anyone else having this problem.? I am using ProTools 4.3.1 with the AudioMedia III card. I cannot get my Sony DAT to grab the coaxial, neither can I monitor through the AIII card because I cannot access the "Input" to the AIII due to my not having the "Sound" condrol panel available. When I access the "Sound & Monitors" panel, I cannot change from "Internal" Card to the Digidesign card, yet when I Start Up (and in the Estensions Manager) the Digi-Init is "Active"... What should I do?... Is anyone else having this problem? HELP!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-1999, 11:38 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

It's on the CD. Just Drop it in to the ControlPanels folder. It even works with 8.6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-1999, 11:59 AM
gqkelly gqkelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90045
Posts: 17
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

What folder is it in(The "Sound" control Panel) on the CD [OS 8.5]? I am just curious (And can't seem to locate it...), as I have been able to figure things out like this for years, but for some reason, cannot locate the "Sound" Control Panel for OS 8.5? (Please excuse my typo's in the last "Topic" window) Any help is greatly appreciated, as I have mastering session to finish tonight, and I am at my witt's end! Your help so far has been a tremendous benefit! Thanks!!!!!

[This message has been edited by gqkelly (edited 06-21-99).]

[This message has been edited by gqkelly (edited 06-21-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-1999, 02:02 PM
gqkelly gqkelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90045
Posts: 17
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

Does it matter if I use it in 8.6 on a "beige" Mac (G3 minitower), or have you (and others only had problems on the Big B&W Mac? (I haven't downloaded 8.6 yet, maybe I wont' yet...)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-1999, 01:52 AM
dylennon dylennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Glen Cove, NY USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

The Sound cDev is located in the "Apple Extras" folder. Note that this control panel does not work with OS8.6 (see my post on this topic)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-1999, 12:15 PM
dylennon dylennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Glen Cove, NY USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

I have found the answer to my issue... the Sound control panel didn't find the Audiomedia III board even though the Digi sound driver was in the Extensions folder. It seems that both the DAE/DSI and Digisetup file must all be active too!
The Sound cDev now works fine.
That was my last open issue with Digi.
The B&W G3/AMIII and SDII all seem to be working great with OS8.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-1999, 01:09 AM
gqkelly gqkelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90045
Posts: 17
Default Re: No Sound Control Panel in Mac OS 8.5

Have you had any problems using the "Coaxial" output going to a DAT player? I read your response, and I dearly thank you for it. I only still have one problem, and that is that I cannot get my Sony DA 20 DAT machine to record a digital signal from the coaxial "out" from the card, and I know this has to be something that I don't have configured right with the software, becasue everything was fine until I upgraded to OS 8.5. Do you know if this has anythin gto do with Calibration, or if there is another init that I don't have on?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Control Panel stefano manelfi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-28-2003 07:51 AM
Where's the Digi001 in my Sound control panel??? Burton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-19-2002 01:01 AM
Sound Control Panel Problem fire2k2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-03-2002 07:54 AM
sound control panel elgrecco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-28-2000 10:09 PM
001's gone from the sound control panel paulod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-16-2000 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com