Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:20 PM
qbert1 qbert1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 189
Default DINR vs. Camcorder noise

Which do you think will win?

I have a friend who is archiving a video interview. The interview was good but he used the mic on top of the camcorder. I was thinking of renting DINR to eliminate this noise. Will that work or will I find I've wasted my money?

Any other suggestions are appreciated.
BK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:26 PM
MorganPost MorganPost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 243
Default Re: DINR vs. Camcorder noise

Try a notch filter/EQ or if you have access to a Cedar DNS unit, that would take care of your issue, but you should be able to make things fly with a notch EQ setting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:39 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,313
Default Re: DINR vs. Camcorder noise

Judicious use of a notch filter, and gate. (Thats how we did it in the past!!!)

Try waves X-noise or Z-noise demo, fully functional, and good for 10 to 14 days or so.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:19 PM
qbert1 qbert1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 189
Default Re: DINR vs. Camcorder noise

Good advice from both. I'll look into it. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2006, 04:53 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: DINR vs. Camcorder noise

HI,

if you aren´t afraid of working in Classic Mode you can download sonicWorx Powerbundle from
www.prosoniq.net for FREE. (->Download->freebies + ASIO Driver) and follow the instructions to
setup.

It has a great Noise reduction capability amongst other qualities.

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:30 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: DINR vs. Camcorder noise

Soundtrack Pro has the ability to take a noise print if you have a solo piece of noise and will then try and eliminate it from the audio. Adobe Audition/Cool Edit Pro (PC) had a similar feature. With these pieces of software there is an offset of audio degredation vs. noise reduction, the more you tend to use noise reduction filters the worse the sound gets, it just a case of reaching a happy medium.

Regards
Mike
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DINR LE Broadband Noise Reduction Torchlight Tips & Tricks 8 10-10-2006 10:54 AM
no noise vs dinr Cawbaby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-23-2005 05:18 PM
DINR noise reduction lightning ad Post - Surround - Video 3 12-01-2004 08:51 PM
Can DINR safely remove mic noise azure sky Tips & Tricks 1 03-30-2001 10:54 PM
DINR vs No-Noise vs Cedar sound kuch General Discussion 0 06-25-1999 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com