Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-03-2002, 06:39 PM

Default PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!!!!! recording wind insturments

I just found out today I am going to have to record a flute and a clarinet, sometime tommrow or tuesday and I have never done this before!!!! I have 2 57's 2 oktava MC012's and a akg c2000b. I also have a d112 but I figured that would be useless recording these insturments. I dont even know how to place the mic!!!!! PLEASE HELP i really need suggestions
Old 03-03-2002, 07:50 PM

Default Re: PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!!!!! recording wind insturments

I would use the 2 57's on each instrument and the other two as stereo imaging mics in opposite sides of the room panning left and right in your mix.Have the clarinet player play as loud as he thinks he will be 3 or 4 inches from the clarinet do the same with the flute.Have them do some scales and record for a few minutes and play it back. You might have to make some adjustments to find the sweet spots.Relax youll be fine.also some compression will go along way with wind instruments.
Old 03-03-2002, 08:10 PM

Choose a nice room, too.
Old 03-03-2002, 09:29 PM

The 77 DX. R.C.A. is the best for clarinet.
And the flute should be miked by the mouth piece and the end with a dynamic mic.
Condenser is worst choice on clarinet, need somthing to smooth out sound and filter out valve noise. So a dark mic perhaps a ribon mic

W. C. S. Consulting Engineer S-D-A
Old 03-03-2002, 11:14 PM

If you record a clarinet with the mic three or four inches from the instrument, I doubt you will get an even output. Further away will help.