Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 12-28-2009, 02:43 PM

Default MacPro quad and PTLE

Definitely looking to upgrade my system...actually from PC to MacPro. As I am looking to buy very soon, is there a really big noticible difference between the (stock) 3 GB ram vs. an optional upgrade to 6? I do not tend to use a lot of synths/samples, just a fair (12-24) number of audio tracks & plugs. From what I have to the stock macpro is a huge upgrade! Is there any experience from users who have worked with 3GB and feel it is extremely insufficient?? Thanks all as I am new to the DIGI world!!
Old 12-28-2009, 03:27 PM

Default Re: MacPro quad and PTLE

The sweet spot seems to be 4 GB. Each person's sessions has different needs and you really need to experiment to find what is the best amount of RAM for you. Start with the three and yoy can easily add mor as needed. Don't buy the REM from Apple unless you have money to burn. There are many online sourcess that have RAM for a fraction of the price compared to the Apple store. I do suggest you get some good RAM however as bad RAM is one of the most difficult issues to diagnose.

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.4.1 running Protools 2024.3.1
Old 12-28-2009, 05:10 PM

Thank you...I appreciate it. Just going to be getting into both Apple and back to PT.
Old 12-28-2009, 05:43 PM

The new MacPros actually use a triple channel memory bus and do have "ideal" configurations that are in multiples of 3 (3,6,12 etc)

I don't claim to know all the implications of this. I would suggest logging in to the Apple MacPro forums and searching/asking there..