Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2012, 11:19 AM
Ted Spencer Ted Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Default Need OSX Lion

Anyone know where I can buy copy of Lion 10.7? I'd like to finally update from 10.6.8 (like many others I update very late in the game) but it's no longer available from Apple. There are some available on ebay, but usually for ridiculously high prices. Any help would be appreciated. No illegal links please.

TIA
__________________
Ted Spencer, NYC
tedspencerrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2012, 02:51 PM
serstickman serstickman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 59
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

Apple Apps store. It's 20-30 dollars.
__________________
PT 12.5.1, Reaper, S1, Cubase, Logic 9 & X, Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 Yosemite 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2012, 03:25 PM
Ted Spencer Ted Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

That's the problem. They only offer 10.8 Mountain Lion. I need 10.7 Lion. Unless I'm an idiot, and somehow couldn't find it by searching for "10.7" and/or "Lion" and/or "OS X".

It appears that once an OS (or other Apple software) has been superseded, the old version is permanently removed from availability. And since it's sold exclusively as an Apple download, one would seem to be SOL...
__________________
Ted Spencer, NYC
tedspencerrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2012, 09:38 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 421
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

FYI, I'm running Mountain Lion with PT 9.0.6 on my 2011 Macbook Pro (with Apogee Duet and/or built-in audio), with no issues. So if you can only find ML, you might be ok anyway.

Good luck!

~peter in oakland
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2012, 08:50 AM
Ted Spencer Ted Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

Interesting. Anyone else having luck with 10.8 ML and PT 9.0.6? My system is HD with an original (non-Accel) core card, one HD Process card, and one Accel card.

I was planning to experimentally install the Lion 10.7 update on a separate drive anyway, to make sure I don't encounter any deal-breakers among my many apps. I suppose I could just go ahead and try 10.8 out that way and see...

Thoughts?
__________________
Ted Spencer, NYC
tedspencerrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2012, 04:42 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Spencer View Post
Interesting. Anyone else having luck with 10.8 ML and PT 9.0.6? My system is HD with an original (non-Accel) core card, one HD Process card, and one Accel card.

I was planning to experimentally install the Lion 10.7 update on a separate drive anyway, to make sure I don't encounter any deal-breakers among my many apps. I suppose I could just go ahead and try 10.8 out that way and see...

Thoughts?
I might be able to help you out.
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2012, 11:59 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Need OSX Lion

Just FYI if you are thinking about going to Lion or ML just remember there are many compatibility factors to keep in mind... for one your will have to upgrade your plug-ins, any other software you have needs to be upgraded tp be compatible... If it is just a PT rig and you can afford to upgrade all the necessary plugins (most upgrades are not free) then go for it. Just wanted shed some light on "other" things that will be effected by an OS upgrade not just PT itself. However since its just an update and not a new OS you should be fine upgrading to Lion 10.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 10:55 AM
Macbook Pro+lion+PT9 :-( / iMac+Lion+PT9 = :-) Pehja macOS 12 11-08-2011 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com