Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-23-2021, 08:18 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,184
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
...making final DDP deliverable was so easy...
Check out HOFA!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-23-2021, 09:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,805
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
I master in PTools and do assemblage for audio CD (when somebody really really insists on a CD...) with HOFA. I used to use Sony CD Architect, but have now moved on to HOFA - a really solid software.
I loved Sony's CD Architect and used it when I had a Windows system. It's a shame they never developed it beyond 5.2 IIRC. I have several HOFA plugins and agree they are really good. Seeing as how you're using it - how is the third party plugin hosting in the Pro version of the program?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-23-2021, 01:01 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,551
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

I have and still use Izotope's RX 8 repair Which I will use on acoustic guitar tracks , for clicks, sting buzz, or loud finger squeak... It seems like it's pretty good, and can be set be pretty transparent and to only effect specific sounds ..
However I have never tired there Mastering stuff..

In general , I am in the simpler the better > Less is more,,,, camp.

Since I have a great outboard analog Mastering Compressor . The only specific mastering plugins I use are two Massey plugins.. And I use them very sparingly and quite modestly ....
I have for a number of years used the Massey L2007 look ahead brick wall limiter
And lately I been using the Golden Master often now without the L2007 in the chain

Massey is Mac only And they have free no time limit demo downloads that are the full plugins but they do not have bypass and will not save settings with the session....
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 09-23-2021 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-23-2021, 01:38 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,184
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
...I have several HOFA plugins and agree they are really good. Seeing as how you're using it - how is the third party plugin hosting in the Pro version of the program?
I master in ProTools and use HOFA only for assembly for CD or DDP. Intuitive & crash-proof software & yes it does host plugs. You can demo it for free.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-24-2021, 01:10 PM
mbourque mbourque is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 147
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

You can also work in the standalone version of Ozone, in which you can load third-party VSTs.
__________________
Matthieu Bourque


PT Ultimate 2021.06 on macOS 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-24-2021, 03:17 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,805
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbourque View Post
You can also work in the standalone version of Ozone, in which you can load third-party VSTs.
I know that but what I want when I'm mastering is to have a full cd's worth of music lined up ready to master in the order of play. I know Ozone can load 3rd party vst's but I can't find out if each track can have it's own set of plugins and ozone settings.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-25-2021, 07:41 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,406
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

FWIW, Jack, I use the IKM T-Racks 5 Max suite when I master. Now, in full disclosure, mastering is NOT my forte and I'm not really set up for it in my studio the way it should be. However, what I have noticed since I started using the T-Racks is that I get a much cleaner and better finished sound than when I tried to do the same thing using a recipe of other plugins. Maybe its because the suite variety just works together better being designed by the same folks. Also, using the suite I use fewer plugins to get the job done, a point Janne made earlier.



But as I said, I'm not a mastering engineer, so maybe I'm not hearing things correctly, but the suite seems to work much better for me. But bear in mind, I don't do this full time for a living.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-25-2021, 08:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,566
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Everyone who makes the final touch is a mastering engineer. The point though is ME has fresh set of ears compared to the guy who has tweaked the song for weeks, and the room is different too. If you do it all by yourself, that takes time...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-25-2021, 10:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,805
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
FWIW, Jack, I use the IKM T-Racks 5 Max suite when I master. Now, in full disclosure, mastering is NOT my forte and I'm not really set up for it in my studio the way it should be. However, what I have noticed since I started using the T-Racks is that I get a much cleaner and better finished sound than when I tried to do the same thing using a recipe of other plugins. Maybe its because the suite variety just works together better being designed by the same folks. Also, using the suite I use fewer plugins to get the job done, a point Janne made earlier.

But as I said, I'm not a mastering engineer, so maybe I'm not hearing things correctly, but the suite seems to work much better for me. But bear in mind, I don't do this full time for a living.
Glad that you like and master in TRacks Suite - I never would. I've tried and the sound was never as clean as I would like. Been using IK's stuff on and off through the years and while some of their plugins are ok they just don't ring my bell. Doing mid/side with IK stuff isn't all that easy - certainly not like Fabfilter Pro Q3 or in Ozone.


Don't know if you use their plugins on their own in PT but have you noticed none of their compressors have external sidechain?


As I said above glad they work out for you and am not knocking you for using them. It's just that having been exposed to some really great plugins like from Fabfilter, iZotope and Plugin Alliance I can't go back to just using TRacks. TRacks were some of the first third party plugins I purchased when I had my Windows system so I've got a long hidtory with them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-25-2021, 10:54 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,184
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

I have the IK full bundle. One of the IK plugs I actually like & use (sometimes for mastering too) is the Opto Compressor (the red one). That's a good one!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
all in one mastering suite DickHarvey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-26-2006 10:29 AM
all in one mastering suite DickHarvey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-26-2006 07:39 AM
T racks mastering suite thejewdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-31-2005 09:22 AM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Peter Duemmler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 06-21-2002 06:14 PM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Dimension Zero Tips & Tricks 0 06-15-2002 01:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com