Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-19-2021, 04:10 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 261
Default Re: To Big Sur

I found quite a bit of apps with a slash through them. Maybe I was mistaken, and saved a High Sierra drive . It's been a while, so I don't quite remember, and only miss those apps(like Peak) on occasion.
Anyhow, I did test the video with a fairly large project, streaming from Dropbox over the ethernet. Everything seems to be running fine. Now, I will update my Trashcan. If anything goes wrong, I can use my MBP for now.
Maybe it won't take long for Avid to qualify this new update.
__________________
PT2021, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, Mac Pro 2013(Mojave) 3.5GHz/128GB ram/SSD=14T, MacBook Pro 16"(Big Sur) i9/32GB/8T internal, 10TB(backup), Yamaha 01V96i, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital VMS ONE/VMR collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12/13 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, WaveArts PowerSuite6, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2021, 04:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Avid needs to support apple silicon fast, because only then 3rd party plugins start to drop in. Remember the PPC/Intel transition? Took three years to be 100% done


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2021, 08:26 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 261
Default Re: To Big Sur

JFreak, thanks for reminding me. I remember now. I went directly from High Sierra to Mojave. I skipped Catalina. I had so much trouble installing Cat, that Gave up and skipped it altogether. Thanks for pointing that out.
You're right about M1. I don't think that I will be ditching this i9 anytime soon, but with Apple, you never know. One thing for sure, now that I can't upgrade the machines myself...... It's heck of an expensive purchase
__________________
PT2021, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, Mac Pro 2013(Mojave) 3.5GHz/128GB ram/SSD=14T, MacBook Pro 16"(Big Sur) i9/32GB/8T internal, 10TB(backup), Yamaha 01V96i, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital VMS ONE/VMR collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12/13 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, WaveArts PowerSuite6, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-19-2021, 09:40 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Hi,

I've been running Mojave and I'm considering Big Sur.

Given the wording on Avid's compatibility page doesn't make sense, I just want to ensure that the current Big Sur and current Pro Tools are compatable?

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ig-Sur-Support

"In the meantime, we recommend that you continue to use previously qualified operating systems until further notice."
This statement makes no sense considering there is nothing written before it to suggest it needs "in the meantime" and there's a compatibility grid underneath it
I went from Sierra to Mojave for a year which was fine. Then I went to Catalina, with NO problems. It's super solid and even better. I am running a Mac Pro Late 2013 also. Not silicon Mac. I was told depending on what you are doing, which I have a Dolby Atmos room, DADMAN and MTRX setup that I should stay on Catalina and that even though Big Sur is qualified, it may not be as solid as Catalina 10.15.7 for what I am doing here. That is from Avid senior specialists I have been working with. But if you are just doing the ProTools day to day, you may be fine. It may have to do more with my setup. I am pretty happy with the setup now. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.10 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM, Dolby Atmos Mix Room, Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2021, 08:00 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 186
Default Re: To Big Sur

I say NO to Bug Sir!

Thank God I have have made a SuperDuper! image before I upgraded to Bug Sir. It had turned my ProTools dream machine (at least for me, 2018 macmini with eGPU and RME UFX+ firewire interface) into a SLUGGISH monster.

I have gotten into the habbit of upgrading my studio machine in August just before the next iteration of macOS drops to be sure I run into less problems with drivers and incompatible software.
Usually I need to install a couple of new fixes and upgrades from developers and usually I'm pretty much fine. (with the occasional planned obsolescence where I need to buy new stuff)

Now this year was different:

1. Both printers refused to work and both stole hours of digging through forum posts to get them back to work. Okay, we all know printer manufacturers will go straight to hell whenthey die, so that did not come as a shock. In the end I got it to work, but the kind of stuff I had to do in the terminal reminded me why I left Windows....Why Apple, why?

2. SLUGGISHNESS. My setup used to be a killer. I mean I could fire away key commands and it would react at hyper speed. In Big, Sur I can handdraw the waveforms (everything loaded into 40 Gigs of RAM allocated to PT with an eGPU to support the mac) and I would be faster than this crawler...

3. PT errors. PT tells me I am running out of CPU power. I have maybe 10 plugs on 8 tracks of audio no VIs. It is RIDICULOUS! (These sessions would take about 10% of CPU under Catalina. The same machine has been the center of my setup for Amazon originals mixes with a couple of added tracks and plugs....)

4. PT even crashes to the desktop during simple audio suite renders.

Okay, I have had enough. Back to Catalina. This OS is a nightmare for me.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-20-2021, 08:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Big Sur is not actually REQUIRED for anything else than Apple Silicon, so it is safest to keep using Catalina for the time being. With that said my testing of fully loaded M1 Mac Mini has been surprisingly smooth sail. If I was using Intel hardwa re I would be staying on Catalina though, but on this hardware I have no choice. Whatever OS you use clean install is the key to less trouble.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-20-2021, 12:42 PM
audiogamble audiogamble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Big Sur is not actually REQUIRED for anything else than Apple Silicon, so it is safest to keep using Catalina for the time being. With that said my testing of fully loaded M1 Mac Mini has been surprisingly smooth sail. If I was using Intel hardwa re I would be staying on Catalina though, but on this hardware I have no choice. Whatever OS you use clean install is the key to less trouble.
How are you testing it?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2021, 01:49 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogamble View Post
How are you testing it?
The usual; running old sessions seeing which plugs are left behind, creating new dummy sessions for a stress test recording silence.. nothing serious in a real session with anyone else seeing the problems.. so far promising on the algorithmic plugin side of things, but 16GB memory gets obviously eaten fast when you start using VI's. But on the processor side it seems this Apple Silicon is distributing the load to different cores much much more evenly than Intel.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-19-2021, 08:59 PM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 299
Default To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Big Sur is not actually REQUIRED for anything else than Apple Silicon, so it is safest to keep using Catalina for the time being. With that said my testing of fully loaded M1 Mac Mini has been surprisingly smooth sail. If I was using Intel hardwa re I would be staying on Catalina though, but on this hardware I have no choice. Whatever OS you use clean install is the key to less trouble.

Was about to ask advice on this…

I’m running Mojave 10.14.6 and PT 2020.12.1 on a 2019 MBP i7 6-core. Rock solid. BUT, with Apple support for Mojave about to end, I’d like to upgrade to a supported OS.

That would mean Catalina (for one more year) or Big Sur. You say Catalina for Intel, eh? So, 10.15.7 and 2021.7 I assume? I won’t be going M1 anytime soon.
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-19-2021, 10:07 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 380
Default Re: To Big Sur

I am running a completely unsupported configuration of a 2010 MacPro 5,1 on Big Sur 11.6. Pro Tools 2021.7. It has been rock solid on very large mixes with and without reference videos. The new video engine is better than it’s been in many versions. Probably the smoothest this machine has ever run. No issues at all.

But I run a very clean system and only use this machine for Pro Tools,
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.5 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 11.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com