Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2021, 11:26 PM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Default To Big Sur

Hi,

I've been running Mojave and I'm considering Big Sur.

Given the wording on Avid's compatibility page doesn't make sense, I just want to ensure that the current Big Sur and current Pro Tools are compatable?

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ig-Sur-Support

"In the meantime, we recommend that you continue to use previously qualified operating systems until further notice."
This statement makes no sense considering there is nothing written before it to suggest it needs "in the meantime" and there's a compatibility grid underneath it
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2021, 01:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Big Sur is okay, just do a clean install to an empty storage.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2021, 05:01 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,434
Default Re: To Big Sur

What’s you system?

Your Profile system seems out of date!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2021, 06:02 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Yes it is, sorry about that. One week of testing M1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2021, 06:47 PM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
What’s you system?

Your Profile system seems out of date!
Sorry I just updated my bio!

Mac OS 10.14.3
PT 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2021, 07:22 PM
iigunzent iigunzent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 17
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Sorry I just updated my bio!

Mac OS 10.14.3
PT 2020.5.0
Unless you’re running 2021.7, or have the ability to upgrade to it, don’t do it. It’s not worth the headache. I’m using it right now, and randomly all my interfaces stopped coming up in the playback engine and i could only record through the pro tools aggregate…then randomly about an hour ago, pro tools crashed, i restart pro tools…boom. It works again like intended. It’s just happening at random at this point. No method or madness. Lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2021, 10:47 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,240
Default Re: To Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
"In the meantime, we recommend that you continue to use previously qualified operating systems until further notice."
This statement is intended for users on the newer Apple Silicon M1-based Macs (not Intel-based computers). While Protools 2021.6/7 is certified to run on Big Sur, there is a known issue (not yet coded) with the Video Engine in M1 Macs. Older (non certified for Big Sur) versions of Protools like 2021.3/2021.3.1 use the older Video Engine and do seem to function properly on M1 Macs.

So If you're on an Intel-based Mac, it is safe to upgrade to Big Sur.

Note: Some people have reported UI lagginess and repeated beachballs with Protools 2021.6/7 on multiple MacOS version but other do not experience this.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2021, 03:40 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 261
Default Re: To Big Sur

I just tested PT 2021.7 on Big Sur 11.5.2, using MBP I9. so far everything seems to be running fine. Didn't test the video though. Will do that from now.
__________________
PT2021, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, Mac Pro 2013(Mojave) 3.5GHz/128GB ram/SSD=14T, MacBook Pro 16"(Big Sur) i9/32GB/8T internal, 10TB(backup), Yamaha 01V96i, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital VMS ONE/VMR collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12/13 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, WaveArts PowerSuite6, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2021, 03:45 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 261
Default Re: To Big Sur

Another thing, I believe that some apps that run on Mojave, won't run on Big Sur, if I remember correctly. I kept an external Mojave drive just for that.
__________________
PT2021, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, Mac Pro 2013(Mojave) 3.5GHz/128GB ram/SSD=14T, MacBook Pro 16"(Big Sur) i9/32GB/8T internal, 10TB(backup), Yamaha 01V96i, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital VMS ONE/VMR collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12/13 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, WaveArts PowerSuite6, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2021, 03:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,536
Default Re: To Big Sur

Catalina and 64bit only is the divider. Mist software that run on Catalina also run on BS, exceptions I have found are SoundToys AU and Sonnox Procodec


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com