Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2008, 12:12 PM
teddyroberson teddyroberson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default 003 using beat detective and elastic audio

I am in the process of setting up an 003 system, with the production software expansion, for editing on a network and looking to answer a few questions.

1. are you able to run beat detective and elastic audio?

2. if so, how many tracks are you able to edit at one time?

3. i plan on using a macpro g5. will this be sufficient for sessions with large
amounts of editing?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:37 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default

What do you mean by "editing on a network"?

1. yes
2. ?? Do you mean number of tracks that can be played back (voiced)?
The MPT gives you a total of 48 tracks, and they can be mono or stereo (not 96 mono tracks, if you follow)
3. There is no such thing as a MacPro G5.. Really.. The G5's were the last of the PowerPC Macs, the MacPro is the first of the Intel Macs (in tower form, anyway) If you have the option to get an Intel mac, you will be more future proof.. There is a rumour that PowerPC will no longer get supported by Apple with the next major OS update. Just a rumour, but it will happen at some point.. "Large amounts of editing" means different things to different people. You might want to be more specific. How many tracks? How many regions? How many plugins? If you search the the forum you will find posts about the "Dverb Test" and you could see what people were getting on G5's and then on new iMacs and MacPros.. Heavy editing is also affected by hard drive limitations, which you can control to some degree. If you spread a session out over 2 or more drives, your quantity of edits can be greater..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2008, 02:07 PM
teddyroberson teddyroberson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default

well i am looking to setup a network where i can edit using a separate 003 system and be linked to the main control room tower and HD system as well. i currently do all of my editing on a tower and HD system and looking to be able to edit my drums, guitars, and whatever else using beat detective or elastic audio, and wondering if i will be able to still edit up to 16 tracks or so simultaneously on the 003 system like i can on the HD system. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:07 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default

I don't think 16 track should be any problem at all...

I don't have any experience with audio editing over ethernet, but with digi's somewhat strict HD requirements, it seems a possible source of problems...

This might be a good question for the HD forum, since those guys have the multi-room facility thing going on.. You might need some kind of hard-core server or special network settings...??
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2008, 10:53 PM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default

you don't really edit over ethernet. you copy whatever you're working on to your local drive, and then copy the edits back to the server/other machine.
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:44 AM
teddyroberson teddyroberson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default

my main concern was being able to edit up to 20 tracks or so at one time using beat detective or elastic audio on the smaller 003 system as opposed to the HD system. thanks for your help.


teddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Detective vs. Elastic Audio vs. What? Quinn9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-15-2011 08:57 PM
Beat Detective vs Elastic Audio TDub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-15-2010 04:27 PM
Using Beat detective and elastic audio together Kourquie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-19-2010 02:55 PM
Beat Detective vs. elastic audio youbringmesuffering 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-18-2009 08:18 AM
Beat Detective vs. Elastic Audio Tobias Eichelberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-20-2009 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com