Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:48 PM
calpilot calpilot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default Substitute Mbox Mini for Mbox2 Pro

A newbie question, but I couldn't find an answer in the search:

Am currently running LE 7.3 with an Mbox2 Pro at home, and would like to get an Mbox Mini to take on the road.

Will a single LE 7.3 installation allow me to just "plug and play" the mini as the hardware interface without any hassles?

Thanks!

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2007, 01:31 PM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Substitute Mbox Mini for Mbox2 Pro

Quick answer, yes. Depending on which system (mini or pro) you started your session every time you open a session using the other hardware you will receive a note saying that your I/O has changed (because you no longer have the same input/output options because you changed hardware.)

Another thing to keep in mind is that the Mbox 2 Pro has support for up to 24bit/96kHz, while the Mbox 2 mini only supports up to 24bit/48kHz so if you have a 88.2 or 96k session it won't open using the mini unless you apply sample rate conversion.

But I go between my Mbox2 mini and a 002 all the time with no problems, I just can't use the mini on projects that are at 96k (which for me aren't many).

Hope this helps.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:57 PM
calpilot calpilot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Substitute Mbox Mini for Mbox2 Pro

Perfect!

Thanks for the quick response...I certainly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My MBOX2 and MBOX2 mini won't work in Europe? jonslaten 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 03-25-2009 04:12 PM
MBox2 Mini - How do I have Windows sounds play through MBOX? Jaison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-19-2008 06:51 PM
mbox2 pro and mbox mini on same macbook? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-15-2007 07:57 AM
Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason Mbox2digi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2007 08:37 AM
Mbox2 Mini vs Mbox 1 jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-25-2006 02:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com