Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:02 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 229
Default REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

All,

Sorry for my slow thinking in understanding the conclusion for this issue. As I just jumped on the PT HD wagon, I need to raised up this question once more.

- What is the conclusion on the proper configuration needed for working with REAL 24FPS project on PT HD running on OS-X PCIe (MacPro)?

- Do we really can't use DV stream converter (like ADVC-110)?

- Is VVTR the only way to go? Which card actually work best for this 24FPS work?

Please kindly list your setup. Really appreciate all your answer.

Thank you.


PS:
Just want to remind you that I'm on PAL land.
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix JFS


Mac Mini (2018) 3.2GHz 6-Core i7, 32GB RAM, OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2021.7, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Sync X, MTRX Studio, BSS BluDan, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:28 AM
José Luis Díaz José Luis Díaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 166
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

Hi Bokir,

We are also in a PAL country. And we work in REAL 24fps.
We work with QuickTime movies that we see in a second monitor.
If we need to make ADR or Foley (with a video proyector) a FuseX card handles that task. PAL video signal that FuseX outputs from a QT at 24fps is perfectly recognised by any TV set, video monitor or video projector as a normal PAL video stream.
Just change TC in the session to 24fps, no pull down, no pull up. Nothing more than that.
Good luck.

Jose Luis Diaz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2007, 05:28 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

The really cool thing about 24 fps movies it that Pro Tools automatically adds a faux frame if you go out a video (PAL) output. So all you really have to do is set the frame rate of the session an it all works.
S.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:10 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 229
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

Thanks Jose and Sleadley.

So running 24FPS in second monitor is okay right?

In other thing, I'm still confused with the choice of video card for that ADR & foley output. As I will running the PT HD on MacPro (PCIe) will FuseX fit into the slot? Also I just found out that their website no longer available. Do they still exist? Anybody has any idea where can I get FuseX?

Thanks.
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix JFS


Mac Mini (2018) 3.2GHz 6-Core i7, 32GB RAM, OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2021.7, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Sync X, MTRX Studio, BSS BluDan, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2007, 05:58 AM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

The simplest way I did this on a G5 (this also works on the mac Pro) was to get an DVI to Video adaptor on the second monitor output on the built in Video Card, no need for another video card (the Fuse is PCI no good in a PCIe Mac Pro) These are really inexpensive ($40 or so) and they work a treat. I would suggest that you get and use Synccheck to get the correct sync offset.
hope this helps
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2007, 10:36 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 229
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

Simon,

Great. Thats one clear solution. I'll definitely look for the adaptor.
As for syncheck I also already place an order.

Thanks a lot.
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix JFS


Mac Mini (2018) 3.2GHz 6-Core i7, 32GB RAM, OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2021.7, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Sync X, MTRX Studio, BSS BluDan, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2007, 02:27 AM
mfranken's Avatar
mfranken mfranken is offline
Sounds In Sync
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 255
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

Note that the video adapter (DVI to composite video) from Apple doesn't work with all video cards that come with the MacPro. I have 2x Apple 'NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT' video cards (in slot 1+4) of my MacPro and they won't 'see' the video adapter. I found a cheap VGA to PAL video adapter however in my local electronics shop that works great.

So yes, 24FPS pics on a 2nd or third monitor works great. I love being able to see the 24FPS cut points.

Regards,

Mark
__________________
Mark Franken, MPSE
Dialogue editor/supervisor IMDb
Creator of 'EDI' applications for sound post editors
www.soundsinsync.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:59 AM
Sonsey Sonsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 500
Default Re: REVISITED - Working with 24FPS

I should note that this also works great the OTHER way. I'm doing a short that was shot HDV at 25fps (for a specific look) and using the "third screen" method I can easily display this on my NTSC monitors. Mark is correct in pointing out problems with the Adaptor. Specifically, it will NOT work with dual wire DVI ports - in other words any DVI port that can run a 30" Cinema display. On the stock cards that come with most G5's this means the adaptor MUST be connected to port 2.
__________________
"Ya canna change the laws of physics..."
-Montgomery Scott

Howard Sonnenburg
Atomic Audio
Ottawa, ON
Canada
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 25fps to 24fps then the converted 24fps to new 25fps. Stay with me on this! abes Post - Surround - Video 2 03-01-2013 10:36 AM
RED 24FPS from FCP rafukyo Post - Surround - Video 7 05-06-2009 11:17 AM
Working with 24FPS uno1234 Post - Surround - Video 24 09-29-2007 01:12 PM
24FPS to 29.97 minister Post - Surround - Video 12 10-06-2004 08:59 AM
Working with a 24fps film Spin Girl Post - Surround - Video 5 05-02-2004 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com