Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2021, 10:01 PM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 31
Default Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Hello,
I'm running Pro Tools 2021.7.0 on an iMac Pro (2017) with an 18-core Intel Xeon, 2.3 Ghz and 256 GB of ram.

This project is rather large, with 54 tracks, including all audio tracks, buss tracks and all aux tracks, and midi tracks etc.

Simply put, when I route my electric guitars through a Buss track (Stereo aux track), the volume goes way down. The guitars were recorded through a Direct Input via a Great River PreAmp. AND, this happens when there's NOTHING on the buss track...no limiter, no EQ etc.

My engineer tried creating a second buss track named GtrBuss2 (the first was named GtrBuss). It helps a little but when I compare these results by switching the routing the main Stereo Out, the volume jumps way high.

I appreciate any help. I still have much to learn about routing....Thank You, Frank B.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2021, 08:34 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,717
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Try putting the Bus Track in Input Only.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2021, 08:59 AM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Thank you for responding. I'm not sure what you mean.... I tried setting buss tracks to 'No Output" with only the Input defined....

Of course that didn't help - it cut off the routing chain and my audio didn't play.

Anyways, I'm not sure I did what you meant to say...Thanks....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2021, 09:57 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,809
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightbelt View Post
Thank you for responding. I'm not sure what you mean.... I tried setting buss tracks to 'No Output" with only the Input defined....

Of course that didn't help - it cut off the routing chain and my audio didn't play.

Anyways, I'm not sure I did what you meant to say...Thanks....
Are you routing to the bus via track outputs or track sends? You really should use track outputs or if you're using sends use a prefader send.It's possible that you may have phase issues and that's why you're seeing a drop in level. Obviously you need to have an output routing so you can hear audio.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2021, 10:17 AM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

I do both. I route effects in busses using sends for individual tracks.

I route Busses via track output for grouping instruments and using single effects.

Could two different electric guitars (1 is a Gretsch - the 2nd a Rickenbacker)
have phase issues both being recorded by Direct Input?

Thanks for your responding....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2021, 12:42 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,809
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightbelt View Post
I do both. I route effects in busses using sends for individual tracks.

I route Busses via track output for grouping instruments and using single effects.

Could two different electric guitars (1 is a Gretsch - the 2nd a Rickenbacker)
have phase issues both being recorded by Direct Input?

Thanks for your responding....
It's possible due to the internal wiring of the guitars. Where are the returns for the sends going? If you're using unique effects for each guitar instead of using sends just insert them right on the track and that way you don't have to mess with sends/returns.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2021, 05:11 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,717
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightbelt View Post
Thank you for responding. I'm not sure what you mean.... I tried setting buss tracks to 'No Output" with only the Input defined....

Of course that didn't help - it cut off the routing chain and my audio didn't play.

Anyways, I'm not sure I did what you meant to say...Thanks....
No, you need an Output of course.

I'm talking about putting the Bus Track to "Input Only Monitoring". See page 531 of the Reference Guide.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2021, 05:42 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
No, you need an Output of course.

I'm talking about putting the Bus Track to "Input Only Monitoring". See page 531 of the Reference Guide.
Looks like he's using an Aux track, not an Audio track.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2021, 05:53 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 235
Default Re: Routing through Buss track kills the volume

This might be a long-shot, but nothing so far has made any sense with my experience in this kind of situation.

If the routing has some additional processing that's not immediately obvious (like a Volume Trim Automation at the head, a Trim plugin, also routed to a channel with a polarity-reverse...)

Maybe look for something like that. Make a new Aux Channel that you route those guitars to, and make sure that they are ONLY routed to that Aux, and the Aux is ONLY going to the Master.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.8 loosing multiple buss routing on crash Goombot Pro Tools 12 2 01-18-2018 02:51 PM
When routing an aux buss to audio to record monitoring latency Tristos Pro Tools 12 2 10-21-2017 07:36 AM
Why does PT8.1 not recognize the buss routing amptbuddy Post - Surround - Video 2 05-27-2011 08:36 AM
Second Track Kills Response from IMIC VGoodfellow Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-25-2002 01:51 AM
Do I really need to use the Master fader during final mix down..It kills my volume Trash Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-04-2000 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com