Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2021, 03:02 PM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Default Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Has anyone had this issue?

On an instrument track, using Kontakt/AliciaKeys - Pro Tools ignores lots of the sustain messages. The sustain has initially been played in with a sustain pedal.

The pedal is working fine. All sustains look fine, but pro tools just ignores them.

is it possible that Kontakt has issues with pro tools?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2021, 04:08 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Has anyone had this issue?

On an instrument track, using Kontakt/AliciaKeys - Pro Tools ignores lots of the sustain messages. The sustain has initially been played in with a sustain pedal.

The pedal is working fine. All sustains look fine, but pro tools just ignores them.

is it possible that Kontakt has issues with pro tools?
I used to have the problem with sustain on punch-ins but I think the option in preferences for MIDI Merge Release Mode helped with that.

Have you tried another plugin like MiniGrand to see if it still happens?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2021, 11:40 PM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
I used to have the problem with sustain on punch-ins but I think the option in preferences for MIDI Merge Release Mode helped with that.

Have you tried another plugin like MiniGrand to see if it still happens?
Thanks Chris. I'll give it a run tonight
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2021, 11:47 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,139
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Known problem with Kontakt and Alicia's Keys. The fix is to create more space between sustain ons and offs at points where MIDI is being ignored. AK, for whatever reason, doesn't like quick pedal switching. I have a couple other Kontakt-based pianos that behave this way, occasionally, but nowhere nearly as often as AK.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2021, 03:31 PM
Philthy Philthy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,312
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Kontakt sustain is a mess on my rig too, using galaxy vintage d
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2021, 04:47 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,139
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
Kontakt sustain is a mess on my rig too, using galaxy vintage d
Yep, that's the other piano library I struggle with in this regard, though I don't find it to be as bad as AK.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2021, 04:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,621
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

AIR Mini Grand does that too, on and off, unpredictable. Ivory seems to not be affected about this, but I am thinking it is more of a midi merge issue than a plugin problem. Still wondering why some of the plugins work and others do not, which would imply plugin problem.

This has been on and off since PT8 so if you want to get rid of it you need to go back to 7.4.2 version.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2021, 07:08 AM
Progear Progear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 27
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Same here, spent an hour yesterday trying to figure out the sustain problem but was not able to fix… it happens with all of my instrument plugins including mini grand.. HELP.. !!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2021, 11:52 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,900
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

Working fine with eastwest and Spitfire pianos, tho. Even Kontact-based Spitfire libraries don't seem to be afflicted on my system. PT 2021.6, Windows 10, 24-core 2.3 GHz Xeon.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2021, 03:12 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,775
Default Re: Pro Tools ignoring sustain messages

had a perfect piano part never be the same as there was NO SUSTAIN info Recorded ... trying to add that later never worked right ..

I do Not use Pro Tools for Pianos anymore .. never want to go through that again ...

my .02
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sustain messages when recording Samba MIDI 3 07-23-2020 09:04 AM
Sustain NOT recording in pro tools 9!!! geoffvernon Pro Tools 9 7 03-29-2014 05:38 PM
Many different error messages, Pro Tools aborting or unable to click messages off riffmachine Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 10-05-2010 05:15 AM
midi sustain pedal messages bug dmuckala Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 34 09-11-2007 11:32 PM
Ignoring Buffer Messages Seven Harkey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-23-2003 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com