Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2021, 01:13 PM
Stys64's Avatar
Stys64 Stys64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 71
Default 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Greetings all,

Anyone running PT 2021.7 on OS X 11.6? If so, any major issues? I am still running 2021.3 on 11.2. Avid confirmed the graphic issue I am experiencing has been resolved in the newer releases but, I remain hesitant to upgrade simply because the latest compatibility chart shows 2021.7 at OS X 11.5.2.

Thank you in advance for any replies.
__________________
Intel Core i9 iMac, 64 GB 1TB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.7
UAD ApolloTwin DUO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2021, 06:36 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stys64 View Post
Greetings all,

Anyone running PT 2021.7 on OS X 11.6? If so, any major issues? I am still running 2021.3 on 11.2. Avid confirmed the graphic issue I am experiencing has been resolved in the newer releases but, I remain hesitant to upgrade simply because the latest compatibility chart shows 2021.7 at OS X 11.5.2.

Thank you in advance for any replies.
You could rename your current app and install 2021.7 to test it out. That way you'd have both versions installed.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2021, 12:49 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,243
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Or just attach an external SSD and do a clean install of the OS and Protools to test. If all goes well, install it to your primary drive. If not, wait until a new version comes out.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2021, 09:55 AM
Stys64's Avatar
Stys64 Stys64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 71
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
You could rename your current app and install 2021.7 to test it out. That way you'd have both versions installed.
Thanks. Simple solution. I appreciate you taking time to address my question.
__________________
Intel Core i9 iMac, 64 GB 1TB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.7
UAD ApolloTwin DUO
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2021, 07:27 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,888
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

We've got it running on 4 MacPros and I have on my personal iMac and MBPro. No issues except with HDX cards, and Avid knows about the issue I've seen and are working on it.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2021, 11:27 AM
nebosphere nebosphere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 54
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
We've got it running on 4 MacPros and I have on my personal iMac and MBPro. No issues except with HDX cards, and Avid knows about the issue I've seen and are working on it.
What issue ware you seeing with the HDX cards?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2021, 06:25 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,888
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

See the following thread:

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416955
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2021, 06:55 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 72
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

For myself, and several of my friends, this combo is unusable. At least with Ultimate. Extremely sluggish GUI, random black boxes/screen redraw issues, and very frequent CPU overloads that require changing the buffer in the playback engine in order to get things to play again. It's been months now and Avid still hasn't figured it out. I keep checking in with support and all they say is that they're working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2021, 07:56 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 381
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

I am running PT 2021.7 on 11.6 with no issues on an HDX system. I know several others with native laptop systems running it as well.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.5 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 11.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2021, 07:57 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 381
Default Re: 2021.7 on OS X 11.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebeatless View Post
For myself, and several of my friends, this combo is unusable. At least with Ultimate. Extremely sluggish GUI, random black boxes/screen redraw issues, and very frequent CPU overloads that require changing the buffer in the playback engine in order to get things to play again. It's been months now and Avid still hasn't figured it out. I keep checking in with support and all they say is that they're working on it.
Do you have a 4K monitor? PT on Big Sur is known to be problematic with 4K+ monitors.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.5 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 11.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.6 and 2021.7 restart after exit NJsound.com Pro Tools 2021 12 08-11-2021 02:45 PM
Downgrading from 2021.6 t0 2021.3 Mac M1 Leon77 Pro Tools 2021 2 07-21-2021 10:43 AM
2021 TDM HD4 Win XP Sugarnutz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 07-15-2021 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com