Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-1999, 04:50 AM
Bill Padley Bill Padley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: london
Posts: 12
Default Hui and PT5 probs

Hi guys..just upgraded to pt5 with the inherent oms change that comes with it.
My hui is now only communicating TO PT and not FROM pt -hui..ie faders work in as far as sending the info to pt goes but no fader positioning or movement on the hui ,scribble strips etc.PT keeps saying communication is not working..its right LOL
Hui is enabled as a midi input device and all peripheral settings are as they were for the previous pt setup.
In other words nothing has changed from before except PT5..what could this be..any ideas?
(HUI firmware is 1.45)

Bill Padley
Wise Buddah Music
London

[This message has been edited by Bill Padley (edited 12-12-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-1999, 07:00 AM
GROS GROS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 346
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

have you created a new OMS studio setup?i would start by doing that first.maybe try different cables,at this point it could be anything.initially i had some problems with my HUI,turned out that i had to select the HUI as in input device.did you ever get your HUI to work with 5.0 before?

well here is what i would try.

1) trash OMS preferences
2)create a new OMS studio setup
3)confirm bidirectional connection (via) OMS using test studio feature.if bidirectional communication were not established after doing this test,then i would check cables,or perhaps start questioning (MIDI interface) configurations.IF ALL is properly configured,i would then go back to pt 5.0 and select the HUI both in peripherals and MIDI input devices.

i hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-1999, 10:26 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

Open PT 5.0

Go to the "Midi" Menu and select "Input Devices"

Make sure the HUI appears and is selected
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-1999, 01:13 AM
Bill Padley Bill Padley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: london
Posts: 12
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

Hi Guys.

Ok it all was FINE before PT5/new oms
now EVERYTHING EXCEPT HUI is fine (all kbd modules) which are connected to modem port.
Hui is on the printer port on its own interface and i see hui talking to that interface.It IS selected as an input device, but nothing from PT-HUI.
Cabling is fine..I repeat NOTHING has changed except PT5 and new oms provided.
Bit stumped now..I dont really want to build a new OMS setup ( 10 modules) which is working fine to get the hui going.It must be something simple.

Cheers
Bill Padley
London
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-1999, 07:43 PM
Bill Esses Bill Esses is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Marlboro, VT
Posts: 86
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

I tried upgrading to PT5.0, but the HUI is now a nightmare. I have read everything about it and did everything and it does work, except I keep getting this damn low note caca every 2 seconds and the midi is going everywhich way. when you have a midi track in input and you move the fader there it is.. this does not make sense. I was doing better using 4.3.2 for audio and usind Logic for Midi and doing the IAC thing. I would really like to get 5.0 working right with the HUI, but I only have 1 serial port. Are there any other options. I'm assuming all those ports on the Digi cards are not available for this purpose, but I thought I had heard some rumor a while ago that maybe they would be..dream on.
Anyway at this point I'm wondering if having a controller on the midi chain at all isn't really barbaric, though just 2 days ago I did love my HUI.
any help would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-1999, 04:39 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

Hi Bill,

Perhaps your OMS preferences were lost when installing the new OMS version. This would lead to the "Use Serial DMA when available" option to reset to "ON". If so, this would certainly lead to corrupted MIDI messages.

So, under OMS, check your prefs for this.

Good luck,

tim
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-1999, 10:56 AM
imported_yes imported_yes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sherman Oaks,CA. U.S.A
Posts: 423
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

Hi Everyone! I E-Mailed Mackie concerning the HUI & 5.0 - This is their response:

Marvin-

Thanks for the inquiry. We are working with Digidesign to test the HUI with
5.0 as we speak. We should have a copy of 5.0 here within the next week or
so. We would appreciate any feedback regarding what functions you've
encountered not working properly. Thanks for the e-mail.

Pat Lambert
Mackie Designs
Technical Support Supervisor
__________________
yes
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-1999, 11:40 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

Sluggish comunication between digi and thier 3rd party partners again!

- Mackie
12-21-99
"We should have a copy of 5.0 here within the next week or so."

- Jesus!

__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-1999, 01:20 AM
imported_yes imported_yes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sherman Oaks,CA. U.S.A
Posts: 423
Default Re: Hui and PT5 probs

FYI: Any one that wants to put their 2cents in, contact E-mail : PAT@Mackie.com
__________________
yes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new probs yanncrusoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-29-2007 11:18 AM
2 different probs. Blue642 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-26-2005 06:13 PM
SP2 M-box probs... Eloquist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-25-2005 06:56 PM
DAE probs BBCalhoun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-03-2002 06:30 PM
Probs Interval Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 05-08-1999 01:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com