Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2022, 02:33 PM
The Mink The Mink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grass Valley CA
Posts: 257
Default Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

After 25 years of using PT, I still have yet to see ONE instance where I want to see a client's I/O in a session when I open it up for the first time. Where I say 'wow, I'm so glad I have some insight into the way they name their outputs on gear that I don't have!'

Is it possible to just automatically force my I/O on every session I import for the rest of my life?
__________________
Mac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2020)
OSX 10.15.7
PT 2021
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2022, 07:10 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,974
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Following!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2022, 07:41 PM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Come on. Who doesn't like seeing 400 extra bus submenus pop up in a tidy session.

As someone who opens other people's stuff all day... And I'm writing this for anyone it might help... the worst is just plain opening their session. That corrupts your IO straight away.

I try to start the process with opening one of my template sessions, and making sure all is cool. (Every few months I will save the IO/busses etc as a waypoint too). THEN I create a new session. Then I import session data from their session. And make sure to click off all their IO, Aux etc. That strips it out pretty much. It never totally helps, but it gets closer.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2019. Something
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
I'm either working, sick, or both.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2022, 10:50 PM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 414
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
Come on. Who doesn't like seeing 400 extra bus submenus pop up in a tidy session. .
Just a "Clear unused paths" button would be a start.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.7.0 - MacOS 11.5.2 - MacBook Pro (Late 2019) - 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 - 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 - Apogee Quartet - Avid Link 2022.7.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2022, 11:19 PM
andrealc andrealc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 18
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2022, 08:36 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,108
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Personally it's about 50/50 - there are times when I want to see what they had going before me, and times when I don't care. That said, I have a Keyboard Maestro script that steps through all the I/O tabs, deletes everything and then pulls in my I/O setup of choice. Takes about 10 seconds - very handy. If I were doing it today I'd probably do it in Soundflow, but KM works just fine.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2022.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2022, 08:42 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,276
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

This irks me as well, but Rich and Brian offered 2 excellent solutions that I will be using in the future. I grew to accept it and deal with it after 10+ years and I'm with Simon, but maybe it should be called "clear unavailable paths"
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2022, 09:00 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 532
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

I've always considered the PT I/O naming a virus. It's infuriating how a single session can spread bus names over an entire facility.

We used to have a policy to NEVER use anything other than the default settings. Now that we're dealing with multiple MTRX and MTRX Studios, Dante cues and I/O's, etc it's a necessary evil and usually a mess.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 11.6.8
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7.0 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2022, 09:25 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,874
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

I thought it was possible to Export and Import I/O settings. Did this change?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2022, 09:58 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Is there a way to NEVER import i/o from a session AGAIN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I thought it was possible to Export and Import I/O settings. Did this change?
You can do that. I import from my last session (vs an exported IO setup)
Also, when you get the pop-up window about the i/o being changed (before the session opens to the edit/mix window) its good to look at the i/o from that pop up button at the bottom, wipe everything in there, import your system i/o, then when you hit ok, it continues opening to the mix/edit windows but now set to your room. Since at that point, it is in at a stage where the i/o is changed but not used yet, you can do that easily. Once it opens to the mix/edit, the i/o is in use and wiping out the i/o also means resetting the i/o on the tracks in the session. Doing it before when you get that warning, means your naming carries into the session when it goes to fully opening.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import Session Data or OMF Import creating regions of white noise Rob S Pro Tools 2019 0 09-23-2019 01:43 PM
Session-Import -> Groups no VCA import - do I misunderstand sth? Sir Hannes macOS 0 06-09-2018 03:28 PM
Import track or session files ? And Import, then SAVE ? theivories Pro Tools 11 1 09-25-2015 07:36 PM
Import Session Data with out Audio import disinfor Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 11-14-2010 11:44 AM
Import track color in import session data deardaddy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-11-2007 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com