Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2001, 10:16 PM
east3rdst east3rdst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 205
Default Quality cables. Does it really matter?

Well of course it matters, but I wanted to draw in those sold on the importance of good cables. I guess I will need 4 quality 1/4" to run from my new 01v to my digi. Any thing to recommend? I want to upgrade my HOSA snake(heard they can make a bad connection with digi inputs). And how about the adat cable? Is the one that came with my 001 quality enough? Oh and sorry to ramble but,what would you guy's use for a 50'-100'stage snake?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2001, 11:54 PM
billbo billbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: manhattan,ks, usa
Posts: 574
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

Well, I personaly use nothing but Canare but if you need a wide selection of bulk or pre-made cables to choose from, try out Markertek.

For my P.A. Snakes, I'm quite fond of the Whirlwind stuff.

Of course that's just my opinion!!!
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
bill hughes-
I made a conscience decision in a semi-conscious state
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2001, 02:48 AM
CCash CCash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

This is one of those loaded questions which I'll probably never know the answer to. A guy at a hi-fi shop tried to bullsh*t me into buying $400 oxygen-free cables once... I said, "Please just get me the $40 dollar RCA". (That's pretty darned expensive anyway!)

I had a friend who worked at Electric Lady Studios and they had something like $2,000 cables running to their monitors... they were about a half inch thick. I wish I could - someday - do a blindfolded A-B with the $2k and a $40...

Sorry, had to ramble. Oh well, for now, if it doesn't crap out on me, I'm happy. (PS - a lot of people seem to concur with billbo's suggestions).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2001, 01:56 PM
billbo billbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: manhattan,ks, usa
Posts: 574
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by CCash:
PS - a lot of people seem to concur with billbo's suggestions.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What the hell???

I think that's a pretty damn C [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] L compliment!!!

Thanks CCash:
__________________
bill hughes-
I made a conscience decision in a semi-conscious state
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2001, 01:43 AM
CCash CCash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

It seems that most pro studios use Canare or Mogami cable and Neutrik connectors. There's another connector brand I can't think of right now... Monster Cable is getting pretty standard now too.

Whirlwind snakes are pretty tough, and having a Markertek catalog around makes me happy. [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2001, 07:39 AM
andyo andyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 582
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

I highly suggest HOSA cables.

Just kidding [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2001, 09:10 AM
XHipHop XHipHop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 216
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

I use monster and have no complaints. I also like the fact that i can get them pretty much anywhere at a second's notice, if i need to. (all the moajor stores carry a big stock).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2001, 10:05 PM
fiddle fiddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: newark, nj, usa
Posts: 81
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

hi, my theory about cable:
its all the same ****. Its all a gimmick, monster, gold connectors, etc.etc. the air cable I noticed a slight difference(meter wise, not audible). I have been building studios and broadcast facilities for a while now, noone Ive ever spoken to can tell the difference.

belden cable, cheapest and great
neutrik or switchcraft connectors
everything i have ever done has been with these 2 things, never a complaint..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2001, 12:22 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: Quality cables. Does it really matter?

I use the Monster studio 500 series for as many connections as I can.

I have a box of slightly used Hosa cables and snakes for sale...anyone game?

One thing to watch out for with Monster cables is that the 1/4" plugs don't always fit quite right (they're a little tight for some jacks).
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the quality of your firewire cable DOES matter billynojokes Pro Tools 9 2 07-26-2011 09:56 AM
Quality of BNC wordclock cables guitar486 Tips & Tricks 3 05-11-2009 04:28 PM
Pro Quality, Do Converters matter?? mxsoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 11-27-2003 10:14 PM
quality cables rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 09-09-2002 08:54 PM
Good Quality Mac Serial Cables JGriffith Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-18-2000 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com