Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2021, 04:13 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 979
Default MTRX Studio and AES??

Hello! How are owners who need to incorporate AES outboard gear with their MTRX Studio accomplishing this? Adat to AES converters I assume. If so which products are you using successfully? Thanks in advance!!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2021, 05:21 AM
ntp-jl's Avatar
ntp-jl ntp-jl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 79
Default Re: MTRX Studio and AES??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armando View Post
Hello! How are owners who need to incorporate AES outboard gear with their MTRX Studio accomplishing this? Adat to AES converters I assume. If so which products are you using successfully? Thanks in advance!!
You can also use Dante to AES. There are more channels available on Dante than on ADAT, which is handy if you have a lot of AES gear.

There are Dante converters that will do just one AES to Dante and others that will do e.g. 8 AES to Dante. Just be aware that many of the single AES to Dante converters use SRC which can not always be disabled.
__________________
Jan Lykke
Business Development Manager
DAD - Digital Audio Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2021, 08:02 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,458
Default Re: MTRX Studio and AES??

RME converters (ADI-192 DD)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.10, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2021, 05:11 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 426
Default Re: MTRX Studio and AES??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armando View Post
Hello! How are owners who need to incorporate AES outboard gear with their MTRX Studio accomplishing this? Adat to AES converters I assume. If so which products are you using successfully? Thanks in advance!!
Simplest solution:

https://pro.focusrite.com/category/a...dnet-d16r-mkii
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2021, 03:31 PM
RobertDorn RobertDorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 189
Default Re: MTRX Studio and AES??

I find this a weird oversight on the MTRX Studio, not having a 2-channel digital connection , being it spdif or AES, next to the adat ports (which cannot be switched from adat to optical spdif)

DSP speakers systems are in a lot of studios nowadays and it's best to feed them digitally. Of course you could add it with DANTE, but then your default monitor path will always have a little more latency than it would have had when the connection was just present on the interface.
__________________
Apple iMac Pro 10-core 3GHz | 128GB ram | macOS 11.5.2 | Universal Audio Apollo X16, X8P, X4 & 2 Octo Sattelites | Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio tuning v MTRX SQP card Goombot Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 9 07-15-2021 12:00 PM
Help - PTU can't see MTRX Studio via HDN TB3 Hud Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 06-21-2021 01:32 PM
Difference between MTRX and MTRX Studio? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-07-2021 01:27 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 9 02-21-2021 09:17 AM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com