Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2021, 09:14 AM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Hi! Would it be possible to open a Pro Tools 10 session in the current Pro Tools 2021.7? I'm aware that RTAS plugs won't be read/loaded, but would the instrument tracks themselves, midi tracks and data, and audio at least also load (even if the RTAS Instrument plugin themselves won't be read/loaded)? If so, are there any steps I'd have to take within Pro Tools 10 to assure the compatibility/readability in 2021.7?

I'm coming from Pro Tools 10 (on my old Intel iMac), and I'm about to install the latest Pro Tools version on my newly-bought Mac M1 Mini. Thought I'd ask here first before I install the 2021.7 on my other system since I'll be transitioning via the Reinstatement of my perpetual license and will have to soon surrender that license that will render my current Pro Tools 10 invalid.

(Apologies for having to ask here as I couldn't find--or may have missed--a direct answer on the related Avid page regarding this, not even via Google search, as most of the inquiries were regarding how to open the most current Pro Tools sessions on older Pro Tools versions.)

Hope someone can help enlighten me regarding this.

Thank you, everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2021, 11:03 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,713
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

If you have a Perpetual License, it will open PT 10, just have the iLok with the license plugged into the computer with PT10 on it. A Subscription License will not authorize PT10.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2021, 11:41 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,188
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoil the Child View Post
... would the instrument tracks themselves, midi tracks and data, and audio at least also load...
yes
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2021, 11:44 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If you have a Perpetual License, it will open PT 10, just have the iLok with the license plugged into the computer with PT10 on it. A Subscription License will not authorize PT10.
It seems he's about to get 2021 perpetual via a reinstatement and he wants to know if he will be able to open his PT10 sessions. The answer is yes. P2021 will be able to open sessions as old as 6 or 7, if not older. It can even open sessions w/SD2 format and convert them to wav. But PT 2021 perpetual does not come with license for 10, 11, 12, like 2020 and earlier. 2021 subscription will also open 10 sessions.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2021, 03:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,570
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoil the Child View Post
I'm coming from Pro Tools 10 (on my old Intel iMac), and I'm about to install the latest Pro Tools version on my newly-bought Mac M1 Mini.
Kumusta!

There is no trouble opening .ptx (10 or later) sessions, but your trouble is with the plugins the sessions are using. As you may already know, PT is not running natively on M1 and neither are any plugins. So while PT support may (!) be around the corner, you need to test whatever plugins you are using.

I have a fully loaded M1 Mac Mini for testing and so far have only found that Sonnox ProCodec does not work, and while it is not so much to say I would *guess* you might have good chance getting your sessions running as they were.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2021, 09:05 PM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If you have a Perpetual License, it will open PT 10, just have the iLok with the license plugged into the computer with PT10 on it. A Subscription License will not authorize PT10.
Thank you for your advice! Yes, I purchased a PT 10 Perpetual license back in 2012 for my iMac mid-2011 (still running Lion 10.7.3) and haven't updated since. But in late 2020, I was able to purchase the now hard-to-find Reinstatement deal (I believe this is the last one where a new Perpetual license is issued for the Reinstatement instead of the current default to Subscription reinstatement) for future use and have only decided to install this August 2021 when I got my Mac M1 Mini. I'll try your iLok recommendation! I hope though that my old iMac will be compatible with the iLok 3. This, I have yet to research on. Thank you so much for your advice!

ADDITIONAL/EDIT: Apologies for this question as I'm not so well-versed on the technical side: When you say that I can just plug the iLok with the PT 2021 license on the computer with my old PT 10, does this mean that I would not have to reinstall PT 10 on that old computer for the new PT 2020 iLok license to recognize it? I'm guessing that it will just auto-recognize/register/validate as long as I'm online?

Last edited by Spoil the Child; 08-27-2021 at 09:38 PM. Reason: Incomplete question
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2021, 09:06 PM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
yes
Thank you for confirming! This is such an important concern for me. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2021, 09:22 PM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
It seems he's about to get 2021 perpetual via a reinstatement and he wants to know if he will be able to open his PT10 sessions. The answer is yes. P2021 will be able to open sessions as old as 6 or 7, if not older. It can even open sessions w/SD2 format and convert them to wav. But PT 2021 perpetual does not come with license for 10, 11, 12, like 2020 and earlier. 2021 subscription will also open 10 sessions.

Thank you, Ben! (Apologies also in advance for upcoming copy-paste of parts of my previous reply above.) I purchased a PT 10 Perpetual license back in 2012 for my iMac mid-2011 (still running Lion 10.7.3) and haven't updated since. But in late 2020, I was able to purchase the now hard-to-find Reinstatement deal (I believe this was the last one of its kind where a new Perpetual license was issued for the Reinstatement of an old, non-subscription, non-yearly update type instead of the current default to Subscription reinstatement.). I've only decided to install this August 2021 when I got my Mac M1 Mini. Based on your reply, would this mean that my kind of Pro Tools Perpetual reinstatement deal as described above would still have the ability to open PT 10? (Sorry, the PT deals/terms have really gotten me confused over the past decade. )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2021, 09:29 PM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Kumusta!

There is no trouble opening .ptx (10 or later) sessions, but your trouble is with the plugins the sessions are using. As you may already know, PT is not running natively on M1 and neither are any plugins. So while PT support may (!) be around the corner, you need to test whatever plugins you are using.

I have a fully loaded M1 Mac Mini for testing and so far have only found that Sonnox ProCodec does not work, and while it is not so much to say I would *guess* you might have good chance getting your sessions running as they were.

Mabuti naman! Kumusta? Wonderful opening greeting! Thank you for your thoughts and advice! It's good to know that my sessions can basically open. Yes, you're right; I would just have to test my plugins. Hopefully, by some miracle, native M1 support arrives in the near future (and that I don't need to buy the upcoming M1x just for that, lol.) Thank you again for your helpful info!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2021, 11:30 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoil the Child View Post
would this mean that my kind of Pro Tools Perpetual reinstatement deal as described above would still have the ability to open PT 10?
Yes. A 2021.7 gives the ability to open PT10 SESSIONS! Not to run PT v10! -just to be clear.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to activate Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 Subscription Bundle to iLOK Cloud Session? XJENSEN Pro Tools 2021 10 07-14-2021 05:00 AM
Can I open a Pro Tools 2019 session with Pro Tools 11? Zak7 Pro Tools 2019 5 06-10-2019 05:17 PM
Pro Tools 9 crashes every time I open a new session or import session data Ryan Butler macOS 14 03-23-2014 08:53 AM
Pro Tools 8 crashing when I try to open a session or start a new session AbstractHabitat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-25-2012 05:58 AM
Pro Tools HD 7.4 zipped Session wont open in Pro Tools SE Lyvewire Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 03-01-2011 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com