Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2018, 04:15 PM
davethe1 davethe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Hello, it’s been a while; been on hiatus for a few years. Jumping back into protools with Avid S3 and a used avid pro tools dock.

My question is regarding buying the dock used (there’s a 5 year warranty included).

I asked the seller to de-register/delete from his avid account so I can register. I haven’t been around in a long time and want to know if this is correct (that i can register to my avid account) and anything else I should be asking seller to do.

Also do we need to put the avid transfer of ownership form and submit?

http://resources.avid.com/SupportFil..._Form_2017.pdf

Best Regards everyone, I’m going to be doing some searches on these forums and catching up on everything.
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro (Non retina) 2.66GHZ Quad Core OSX Sierra, 16GB RAM, 2x 1TB HGST Hard Drives, OWC Thunderbay 2 with 4X 4TB WD Black drives.
2012 Mac Mini late 2012 with same specs as above.
*Avid S3, Avid Dock, RME UCX, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools HD 2018, Waves Diamond/SSL, AIEP2, Komplete Ultimate 9, Ableton 10 Suite, Logic Pro X 10.4, Reason 9, Ilok 2, Maschine Studio, MPC Live, Toraiz SP16, Push 2, MPD 232, MPK249. DJ setup Urei 1620, ARS 3500 xover, Rane MP2015 2X Denon SC 5000, RMX 1000

Last edited by davethe1; 02-25-2018 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Correct subject heading
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2018, 04:36 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,453
Default Re: Used Pro tools dock registration

Quote:
Originally Posted by davethe1 View Post
My question is regarding buying the dock used (there’s a 5 year warranty included).
Lol. Avid doesn't offer that kind of warranty. Most is 90 days to a year. So that warranty is coming from the original dealer -- you should check with them if it is (a) transferable and (b) how to transfer.

As for registering/re-registering. There's a transfer of ownership page. It'll cost $20 you to do the transfer.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en363631
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2018, 08:41 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,432
Default Re: Used Pro tools dock registration

That's an impressive warranty but its not from Avid. Message me the seriel number and I can check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2018, 08:46 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,313
Default Re: Used Pro tools dock registration

Besides that, I would not worry too much. Since you own an S3, you will have access to future versions of Eucon anyway
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2018, 06:44 AM
davethe1 davethe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Re: Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Thanks for the replies guys.

As i was surfing the pages here and online I found your reply Bscout and the transfer of ownership page. I just messaged the seller in regards. I don’t mind paying the fee as I’ve gotten a great price for it.

He said it’s a guitar center 5 year warranty. Bought it through reverbs website and that’s how he advertised it. Calling guitar center today after they open to ask about transfer of Warranty.

Looks like my S3 will be here Monday.

One more question
Would I be connecting the dock to the s3’s second Ethernet port or will I need a small 5 port hub?
The Ethernet ports on both macs are never in use by anything else; I connect wirelessly for downloads/updates.

Thanks again guys. Looks like I’m almost there...
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro (Non retina) 2.66GHZ Quad Core OSX Sierra, 16GB RAM, 2x 1TB HGST Hard Drives, OWC Thunderbay 2 with 4X 4TB WD Black drives.
2012 Mac Mini late 2012 with same specs as above.
*Avid S3, Avid Dock, RME UCX, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools HD 2018, Waves Diamond/SSL, AIEP2, Komplete Ultimate 9, Ableton 10 Suite, Logic Pro X 10.4, Reason 9, Ilok 2, Maschine Studio, MPC Live, Toraiz SP16, Push 2, MPD 232, MPK249. DJ setup Urei 1620, ARS 3500 xover, Rane MP2015 2X Denon SC 5000, RMX 1000
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2018, 06:49 AM
davethe1 davethe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Re: Used Pro tools dock registration

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
That's an impressive warranty but its not from Avid. Message me the seriel number and I can check it out.
Thanks will do!
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro (Non retina) 2.66GHZ Quad Core OSX Sierra, 16GB RAM, 2x 1TB HGST Hard Drives, OWC Thunderbay 2 with 4X 4TB WD Black drives.
2012 Mac Mini late 2012 with same specs as above.
*Avid S3, Avid Dock, RME UCX, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools HD 2018, Waves Diamond/SSL, AIEP2, Komplete Ultimate 9, Ableton 10 Suite, Logic Pro X 10.4, Reason 9, Ilok 2, Maschine Studio, MPC Live, Toraiz SP16, Push 2, MPD 232, MPK249. DJ setup Urei 1620, ARS 3500 xover, Rane MP2015 2X Denon SC 5000, RMX 1000
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2018, 10:36 AM
davethe1 davethe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Re: Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Spoke to guitar center today. The remainder of the warranty is transferable.

Pointed me to information on guitar centers website.

Transferability: This Plan is transferable by the original purchaser for the balance of the original term of the Plan. The product may be registered by mailing information to the administrator, including the Plan reference number, date of new ownership, and new owner’s name, complete address and telephone number.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/pages/Pr...9253x132788413
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro (Non retina) 2.66GHZ Quad Core OSX Sierra, 16GB RAM, 2x 1TB HGST Hard Drives, OWC Thunderbay 2 with 4X 4TB WD Black drives.
2012 Mac Mini late 2012 with same specs as above.
*Avid S3, Avid Dock, RME UCX, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools HD 2018, Waves Diamond/SSL, AIEP2, Komplete Ultimate 9, Ableton 10 Suite, Logic Pro X 10.4, Reason 9, Ilok 2, Maschine Studio, MPC Live, Toraiz SP16, Push 2, MPD 232, MPK249. DJ setup Urei 1620, ARS 3500 xover, Rane MP2015 2X Denon SC 5000, RMX 1000
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2018, 08:10 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,432
Default Re: Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Quote:
Originally Posted by davethe1 View Post
Would I be connecting the dock to the s3’s second Ethernet port or will I need a small 5 port hub?
.
I have mine connected through the S3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2018, 06:44 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I have mine connected through the S3
Oh wow.. I didn't know you could do that!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2018, 09:01 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Purchasing Used Avid Pro tools dock/registration

Can we use AVB if it's connected like this Eddie?
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Avid Pro tools Dock metalmixer Buy & Sell 1 05-27-2018 07:13 PM
Pro Tools 11 HD and Dock dalonso66 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 11-13-2017 08:36 AM
Pro Tools Dock and HUI? Digitopia Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 3 07-17-2016 07:11 AM
Slate VMR & Pro Tools Dock johanvegna Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 05-31-2016 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com