Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2008, 01:04 PM
octathorpe octathorpe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default List editor bank/program

I'm trying to save bank select and program change messages on MIDI tracks using the list editor. Bank select MSB messages (controller 0) will not insert! Any other controller works fine, but 0 just will not work. Any ideas? I'm inserting the messages in lieu of creating a midnam file for my external gear (and protools usually forgets my patches anyway after a shutdown).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2008, 06:11 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: List editor bank/program

Are you on a Mac? Cherry Picker makes midnam creation an absolute breeze.

Secondly, rather than use list editor, try changing the track view (where you change between regions to notes to velocity etc.) to 'program change', then click along the track where you want to change to happen. This opens the Program Change window where you can enter the MSB/LSB details.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:38 AM
octathorpe octathorpe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: List editor bank/program

not interested in creating midnam files. simply want to insert bank select and program change messages.

I figured it out - yes it is necessary to go to the "program change view" - this adds to my disgust with ProTools as it is a very proprietary method. The two bank select messages are combined with a program change message on the same editor line. UNACCEPTABLE. Every other sequencer (hardware and software) allows inputting CC messages (all of them) the same way - choose a CC, input a value, done.

...and another thing. why do we have to go to third party software like cherry picker to set up patch lists?? Every other sequencer has a utility to create lists (see cubase, sonar, etc.). Get with the times digidesign!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bank / program change with VIs typewriter Virtual Instruments 0 11-12-2009 01:08 PM
MIDI Bank Select/Program Change octathorpe Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 10-13-2008 11:58 AM
ProTools LE 7.0 and Cue List Program audioeditor18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-29-2008 10:33 AM
Midi bank select & Program Change d_matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-01-2003 01:32 AM
MIDI Bank/Program scuppari 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-18-2002 03:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com