Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2021, 01:22 PM
pmueller pmueller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 162
Default Good Bye Protools

Hello
I'm a Protools user since version 1.0. Invested 100 thousands in Digidesign/Avid Hard/Software.

Now it's time to switch to another DAW!

Why? I wanted to replace our last PT10 HD6 rig, built in our recording trailer (HD cards start to be bugy).

We mainly record concerts with more then 100 tracks coming from Studer Vista. After we need to playback for mixing and sometimes we do small editing and minor PlugIn processing.

We definitely don't need HDX capability, only we need is 192 physical IN/OUTs.
This offers HDX only. Means 3x HDX Cards, PT Ultimate, new MAC Pro 20000 - 25000.- all in all. How insane these days?

Question to you professionals: Which software would you recommend for high tracks count recording- playback - super slim user interface - PlugIns capability - basic editing - delay compensation - best sound quality.

Happy to get any comments.

What we tested so far: Nuendo Live, Nuendo, Reaper

Best regards,

Patrick
__________________
www.tonkultur.ch - remote recording services
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2021, 02:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,557
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

Of course you can buy enough Apogee Symphony MkII interfaces and use them with Logic if you like, but welcome back when you realise you still like PT and you only need to add HD option cards to all of your your Symphony chassis to make it compatible.

The cost comes from hardware, not software. But sure Logic is cheaper than PT Ultimate, you got that right.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2021, 03:12 PM
pmueller pmueller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 162
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

Janne
Thanks for your idea.
We have 3x 64ch MADI streams to record/playback. Easy to reach with as example RMEs HDSPe Madi FX cards or RMEs Madiface XTs. Works perfect.

I don't look very much for hardware ideas.

Software i'm interested in.

btw.. I have read hundreds of good ideas from you in here. Bravo!!

You may have experience out of Protools world also.....

Best regards, Patrick
__________________
www.tonkultur.ch - remote recording services
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2021, 03:15 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,557
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmueller View Post
You may have experience out of Protools world also.....
I am a newbie, only used 5.1 and later
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2021, 03:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,557
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmueller View Post
btw.. I have read hundreds of good ideas from you in here. Bravo!!
Danke schön, ich gebe mein bestes
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2021, 03:25 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,804
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmueller View Post
Hello
I'm a Protools user since version 1.0. Invested 100 thousands in Digidesign/Avid Hard/Software.

Now it's time to switch to another DAW!

Why? I wanted to replace our last PT10 HD6 rig, built in our recording trailer (HD cards start to be bugy).

We mainly record concerts with more then 100 tracks coming from Studer Vista. After we need to playback for mixing and sometimes we do small editing and minor PlugIn processing.

We definitely don't need HDX capability, only we need is 192 physical IN/OUTs.
This offers HDX only. Means 3x HDX Cards, PT Ultimate, new MAC Pro 20000 - 25000.- all in all. How insane these days?

Question to you professionals: Which software would you recommend for high tracks count recording- playback - super slim user interface - PlugIns capability - basic editing - delay compensation - best sound quality.

Happy to get any comments.

What we tested so far: Nuendo Live, Nuendo, Reaper

Best regards,

Patrick
You're still going to need a new Mac Pro and as you know they aren't cheap. Particularly for the load you're going to put on the system. What are you recording that you need that many tracks and I/O? 192 I/O isn't trivial. I would definitely stay away from Reaper if you're at all serious about having stability. Cubase or Nuendo would be a better bet IF you're really serious about dumping PT.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2021, 04:30 PM
neve2254e neve2254e is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Temecula
Posts: 22
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

This is a tough one. I am kinda in the same boat. I do TV shows.
I would be happy if Protools could record 128 tracks with no HD cards.

I am currently using Dante. Really want to get the Dante PCIe card. It allows for 128 in and out.

I wouldn't buy HDx cards as they are kinda obsolete at this point. 2006 Texas instruments DSP chips.

I recorded 64 channels just last week on my laptop using ProTools, Protools was at 2% cpu usage. Now with the new Apple M1max chips that claim to be even 2 times faster? Really don't need for a Mac Pro for audio???? With 3 HDX cards????
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2021, 03:02 AM
pmueller pmueller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 162
Default Re: Good Bye Protools

@neve2254e
128 channels was a standard config for many years with us.
Since most big live console setups use 2x64 channel stagebox fully loaded, we needed to expand our recording I/O channel count to 3x64 channels.
There is many ambiance mics, FOH L/R, video and and and.... to record.

@musicman691
Mac Pro would be needed for HDX setup only.
Our backup recording system is a Macbook Air 13", RME Madiface XT, Waves Tracks setup. Works flawless since years. Recording track count over 150 isn't a problem at all.

Protools Ultimate is still our preferred DAW but is unfortunately limited to 64 I/O (native).
__________________
www.tonkultur.ch - remote recording services
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a good computer for protools samuelson Post - Surround - Video 8 11-30-2008 04:42 PM
Protools 8 and OSX 10.4 no good? DrSync 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-13-2008 10:06 AM
Good PC Desktop for ProTools LE 002? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-29-2008 02:08 PM
Help! need good chipset for PC with protools LE sirlochness 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-05-2007 10:12 AM
Protools Mix Buss... Good or Bad?? rsmith123 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-02-2003 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com