Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-18-2023, 06:48 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Yes the first thing definitely wrong is on your "Dashboard" towards bottom in the "Location " box It should not be saying "Applications/stufit/LogicPro./
Shouldn't really matter, as he has "Prompt for location" selected.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2023, 07:23 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Shouldn't really matter, as he has "Prompt for location" selected.
I agree normally it shouldnt ,, But there is no way she should of had it saying Applications /and a Stuffit extractor file / For Logic Pro --in the first place and is total Red Flag to me YMMV

Perhaps having that as the Location, has somehow corrupted the storage locations protocol and Prompt for Location is not actually working ?
She needs to see if PT is creating a main session folder and if it actually being located where she selects from the the "prompt" ? And Are you saying she should not just start over by trashing preferences ? That has usually solved most issues for me ??
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2023.12.1 Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 03-18-2023 at 08:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-18-2023, 09:00 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,388
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundstudent View Post
...ive attached screenshots as suggested. re Disk allocation - im thinking i uncheck, create subfolders and change my folder location? - just tried this but still im getting folders on my desktop ..... the new folder location has stayed the same but creating subfolders is checked again......
OK, fairly simple: In your Disk Allocation dialog you have "Custom Allocation Options" checked and the custom allocation is set to your Desktop - that's telling Pro Tools to *always* create all the support folders on the Desktop, when you should really just let it put them in the session folder. There is no reason for you to have that box checked and in most cases it should not be - Uncheck that box, leave "create subfolders..." checked, and you should be fine. Sessions already created with this option may continue to try to access the desktop, but a fresh session should just put everything in the desired session folder. Don't know why that got checked - it typically defaults to unchecked. Trashing prefs would also fix it, but it's an unnecessary step. In any case, it's always a good idea to keep an eye on the disk allocation window to make sure things are going where you think they should be.

There's nothing wrong with your New Session dialog - "Prompt for Location" is set, so it will always ask where to put the session.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
Mac Studio / Ventura, PT 2023.12.HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock
Also running a Mac Studio Ultra / Ventura / HDX / MTRX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-18-2023, 09:06 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
OK, fairly simple: In your Disk Allocation dialog you have "Custom Allocation Options" checked and the custom allocation is set to your Desktop - that's telling Pro Tools to *always* create all the support folders on the Desktop
Of course! This!
(Slaps forehead)
Uncheck "Custom Allocation Options".
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-18-2023, 09:33 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

I also noticed "Interleaved" selected in the New Session Dialog box.
Are we interleaving these days? I thought this was not desirable....

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-18-2023, 09:40 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,388
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
I also noticed "Interleaved" selected in the New Session Dialog box.
Are we interleaving these days? I thought this was not desirable....

Dominic
Totally depends on workflow - personally I find it easiest to use interleaved but some delivery chains (post / film) may prefer mono only. For a music workflow interleaved is usually preferable and how most of the music world works.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
Mac Studio / Ventura, PT 2023.12.HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock
Also running a Mac Studio Ultra / Ventura / HDX / MTRX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2023, 09:48 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Totally depends on workflow - personally I find it easiest to use interleaved but some delivery chains (post / film) may prefer mono only. For a music workflow interleaved is usually preferable and how most of the music world works.
OK, thanks Rich.
Apologies to the OP - not relevant to your issue.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2023, 10:20 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
OK, fairly simple: In your Disk Allocation dialog you have "Custom Allocation Options" checked and the custom allocation is set to your Desktop - that's telling Pro Tools to *always* create all the support folders on the Desktop, when you should really just let it put them in the session folder. There is no reason for you to have that box checked and in most cases it should not be - Uncheck that box, leave "create subfolders..." checked, and you should be fine. Sessions already created with this option may continue to try to access the desktop, but a fresh session should just put everything in the desired session folder. Don't know why that got checked - it typically defaults to unchecked. Trashing prefs would also fix it, but it's an unnecessary step. In any case, it's always a good idea to keep an eye on the disk allocation window to make sure things are going where you think they should be.

There's nothing wrong with your New Session dialog - "Prompt for Location" is set, so it will always ask where to put the session.
Good catch I forgot about unchecking Custom Disk Allocation and that may do it Myself I still think the Location - Applications/stuffit/LogicPro. is way wrong weather or not it is causing a problem,
and would still change that.. Because it is still curious why only the sub folders are showing on the desk top and not the main session folder ?
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2023.12.1 Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 03-18-2023 at 10:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-20-2023, 06:00 AM
soundstudent soundstudent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 8
Default Re: creating a new pro tools session opens 4 empty folders on my desktop

Hi!

thank you all so much for your help! Rich, your spot was the solution but I had to save changes on the session before it would save the changes, which seems obvious now but took me a while!

again thank you all for your help and I sure have learnt a lot from this post!

cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 2018.12 crashing before session opens mixedbywade Pro Tools 2018 2 08-29-2021 10:18 AM
How Do I Stop Pro Tools From Creating Shared Folders In Vista? GNA Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 07-30-2015 10:46 PM
Structure opens empty when I load older session andygray Virtual Instruments 1 02-04-2010 11:10 AM
Corrupt session file? Opens up completely empty. jonnyb8390 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-07-2008 07:47 AM
Empty Folders Issue steppenwolf68 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-08-2004 05:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com