Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2011, 07:53 PM

Default Heat on Aux Tracks? Bus output to Audio Track?

I hope one of you DUCers can help me. I am using HEAT on a mix. I am new to it. I understand that HEAT won't apply to AUX busses (which I use lots of). I have read that the work around is to Bus the output of your Aux Bus to a new Audio Track. Does that mean that I have essentially "print" all of my AUX busses to that audio track?! If I just route them to an audio track, I cannot bounce to disk since Pro Tools won't allow you to Bounce when a track is record enabled or input monitored.

Can any of you help?
Old 09-16-2011, 10:52 PM

Default Re: Heat on Aux Tracks? Bus output to Audio Track?

Bounce To Disk is not your friend, you should try printing your mixes in your PT sessions. In addition to allowing you to use Audio Tracks in input mode as Aux's w/HEAT, there other benefits to printing your mixes this way; i.e. you are also able to export your mixes to multiple formats more quickly, and perform quick mastering or edits w/o having to create a new session. I believe it's generally the preferred method these days, or at least everyone I know prints their mixes this way, although everybody is usually printing stems that I deal with so that may be why. Basically you just need to set up a Print Bus and send all tracks to that bus with a stereo audio track with that bus as its input and record your mix on that track.
Old 09-17-2011, 08:08 AM

Ok, got it. The only way to use HEAT on AUX is to bus to Audio tracks. I WILL start printing my mixes in a PT session. That will eliminate lots of headaches. Thanks!!!
Old 09-17-2011, 09:16 AM