Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:33 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
Default PT Authorisation- Help!

I have 2 HD3 systems, one with 7.3, the other with 7.4. I wanna upgrade the one with 7.4 to PT8. If I do this, can I still have access to the 7.4 license and transfer it to the other system ilok?

If not, how much is a separate 7.3 to 7.4 upgrade? If it's not much less that PT8 then I'd give the idea a miss. Shame, coz I need elastic audio on both machines (one to track, one to edit - at the same time...).

Thanks.
pp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:35 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Why don't you just buy the 7.3>8 upgrade and keep your 7.4 as is?
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2009, 11:34 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 584
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by princeplanet View Post
I have 2 HD3 systems, one with 7.3, the other with 7.4. I wanna upgrade the one with 7.4 to PT8. If I do this, can I still have access to the 7.4 license and transfer it to the other system ilok?

If not, how much is a separate 7.3 to 7.4 upgrade? If it's not much less that PT8 then I'd give the idea a miss. Shame, coz I need elastic audio on both machines (one to track, one to edit - at the same time...).
I have both 7.4 and 8.0 on the same computer/iLok by using a separate boot partition. My motivation was Tiger/Leopard upgrade going smoothly, but still ....

Just buy an extra FW drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner to back up your 7.4 system drive before partitioning your internal system drive. Then install both.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2009, 01:31 PM
MASTERLINKSTUDIOS MASTERLINKSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/
Posts: 299
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

When I purchased 8 for my HD rig I still have 7.3 & 7.4 on same dongle. For some reason I think pt 8 you don't have to surrrender previous license that was already paid for
__________________
Macpro 2.88-4 Gig Ram,HD2,Big Ben,Rosetta 200,Dangerous D Box,Mercury Bundle + Studio classics bundle ,C/24,2-UA 6176,U87ai,Genelec 8050 & 8020,Logic,Final Cut Studio 2,Canon hxa1(hd camera)-Macbook Pro,Mbox 2 Micro.http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/.http://www.myspace.com/masterlinkstudios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:37 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
Why don't you just buy the 7.3>8 upgrade and keep your 7.4 as is?
good question! I guess it's because the 7.4 system already has way more plugs etc installed, so I thought it would save time...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:38 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Man View Post
I have both 7.4 and 8.0 on the same computer/iLok by using a separate boot partition. My motivation was Tiger/Leopard upgrade going smoothly, but still ....

Just buy an extra FW drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner to back up your 7.4 system drive before partitioning your internal system drive. Then install both.

Mark
So you still have both, but on the same computer, what about if you wanted the old 7.4 on another computer (ilok)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2009, 07:51 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

bumping...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2009, 08:10 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 584
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by princeplanet View Post
So you still have both, but on the same computer, what about if you wanted the old 7.4 on another computer (ilok)?
Don't know about that, but I don't think that is what Digi had in mind.

I guess you can buy another empty iLok and try transferring the 7.4 license and leaving the 8.0 license where it is ...and see if it works. If not, you have a spare iLok, which is never a bad idea. But whatever third party plug-ins you may have can only exist on one iLok ...if that matters to your plan.

My 7.4 license appears to be a 7.3/7.4 "bundle" whatever that means.

Mark

P.S. To answer one of your original questions, I believe the 7.3 to 7.4 upgrade cost $249ish, the same as upgrading to 8.0 ...but I think the 7.4 upgrade still includes a free upgrade to 8.0. I think Digi did it this way because 8.0 requires Leopard and 7.4 does not ....and the user base hasn't all caught up to Leopard yet ...a lot of folks are in the middle of that transition ...not to mention the PPC to Intel Mac support.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2009, 02:22 PM
christopherjoel christopherjoel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

Did this question ever get resolved? I'm looking for the same information and no one seems to have posted a definite answer. We'd like to use one of our 7.4 licenses on another system, but upgrade the computer that's currently using 7.4 to 8. Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:22 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: PT Authorisation- Help!

you do not have to surrender any licenses for the 8 upgrade .. i believe it is a standalone installer ..

just get another ilok and put your 8 system on one and the 7 system on the other ..

i leapfrog my systems as well ...

cheers
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
authorisation curlyjones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-01-2009 07:57 PM
Authorisation Ploch Klaus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-11-2008 10:10 AM
mp3 authorisation/ how do I buy? skippy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-01-2003 04:40 PM
D-fx authorisation Wazza Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-14-2000 02:24 PM
help with authorisation larrk Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-18-2000 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com