Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2010, 04:41 PM

Default vocal editing and mixing to do cover songs

Hi everyone!

I'm new to recording and making music, and I would like to do cover songs like these people on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IL_sLyWNj7I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZ0qtdywBz8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SF3Rf896yL0

How do I set it to that type of vocal, everytime I record it sounds dry and not in tune/sync with the instrumentals/background sounds
How do I edit/mix/compress it like those people, what are the settings/plug ins?

THANK YOUU!!!!!
Old 10-27-2010, 07:56 AM

Default Re: vocal editing and mixing to do cover songs

How do I set it to that type of vocal, everytime I record it sounds dry and not in tune/sync with the instrumentals/background sounds
You have to learn to walk before you start running. Recording is an art and you don't learn it overnite, or with 1 question to the DUC(no offense intended here as all of us started off with no knowledge or skill). It takes a good voice, a good mic, a good preamp, a good sounding room, followed by proper treatment(EQ, compression, effects). All this needs to be done on good speakers in a treated room.....there's a lot going on here and experience is the best teacher, so dive in. As for SYNC, it could be latency from plugins, or recording with a high buffer(record at 64, and no plugins on the master track). As for tune/pitch, if you aren't singing in tune(and many don't) then you need a good tuning program(AutoTune, Melodyne, Waves Tune, etc) to fix the tuning(and it takes a certain level of musical talent to tune)