Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:36 AM
Dowlzy Dowlzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard?

Hi,

New user here, I was just wondering if you guys could help me out with disabling my computer factory soundcard to make my Mbox2 my sole soundcard? The only thing I hear from my speakers that connect to my Mbox2 are my Pro Tools sessions audio, how can I configure it so that I may listen to general audio from Youtube etc. through my Mbox2?

I don't want to use my speakers from my computer anymore, instead I've bought a new sound system with my Mbox2 and want to use that for everything?

If you have any information that could help me, it is GREATLY appreciated...

Thank you in advance.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:54 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard

This information is covered in the MBox2 Getting Started Guide that came with your system.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2008, 07:12 PM
wedgehead wedgehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard

I need to be able to do this, too... I looked through that entire document, and didn't' find anything specific to that question... If you can provide more specific info, especially for an XP system, that'd be great... Dowlzy, if you've figured this out, please let me know...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2008, 09:17 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard

Quote:
Digidesign WaveDriver
(Windows XP Only)
The Digidesign WaveDriver Windows System
Audio Driver is a single-client, stereo sound
driver that allows third-party audio programs
that support the WaveDriver MME (Multimedia
Extension) standard to play back through Digidesign
hardware.

For detailed information on configuring the
Digidesign WaveDriver, see the Windows
Audio Drivers Guide.
That is the specific section of that document that I was referring to. As you can see, it gives specific instructions: "For detailed information on configuring the Digidesign WaveDriver, see the Windows Audio Drivers Guide".

Something unclear?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:16 AM
TQ1 TQ1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Default Re: How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard

Read your owner's documentation on how to enter your PC's BIOS and disable on-board sound. Hit "save changes" and exit. As far as disabling your on-board sound that should do it, I'd think.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2008, 03:36 PM
wedgehead wedgehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: How Can I Disable My Computer To Make Mbox2 My Soundcard

Well, see, that's the rub... In that specific document that you referred to, there's actually a section called Windows Audio Drivers Guide, or something almost exact. I perused that section, after reading the section that you copied text from, and came up with bupkiss. If I hadn't misunderstood, I'd have dug up the proper Windows Audio Drivers Guide myself. In any case, thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9 - Will it make my 003R finally work like a regular soundcard? TheNoize macOS 12 12-16-2010 01:07 PM
Best Soundcard for PT? - would it make it run better? guylarge Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 01-06-2010 03:52 PM
Mbox2 as a soundcard...Possible? hayduke084 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 10-19-2006 10:28 AM
how to make a midi track "mute safe" i.e. disable? c-post MIDI 3 11-22-2004 08:30 PM
disable onboard soundcard genebadd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-24-2003 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com