Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-26-2021, 04:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,137
Default Re: +4/-10 button usage

Ribbon mic is destroyed with phantom power


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2021, 04:47 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,486
Default Re: +4/-10 button usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Ribbon mic is destroyed with phantom power


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Urban myth. Faulty wiring or hot patching especially through a TRS or Bantam/TT patchbay can fry the ribbon. Other than that, ribbons don’t care if phantom is switched on or not.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2021, 04:49 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,137
Default Re: +4/-10 button usage

Royer Labs disagrees with you. I would not want to risk a R-121 but to each his own


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:21 PM
mjbarry mjbarry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 46
Default Re: +4/-10 button usage

I called Cascade, and when I told the guy what year I purchased the mics (2012) he said that anything from 2012 is passive.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Adjusting clip gain is the most fundamental way to add digital gain.

Based on your posts in this thread, you can only have the passive version. Passive versions of ribbons always have very low output and don’t require phantom power. If you don’t hear anything until you turn on phantom power, then you have an active ribbon with the FET gain device built in.
__________________
PC - i7 3Ghz, 12 GB RAM, TI 1394 card, Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.
MBox Pro
Pro Tools Win - 10.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2021, 08:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: +4/-10 button usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Royer Labs disagrees with you. I would not want to risk a R-121 but to each his own

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Royer say things similar to other manufacturers. https://royerlabs.com/ribbon-mics-and-phantom-power. Phantom power is not a good idea but it won't harm their mics directly. The issue as Top Jimmy explained it is often plugging into TT/phono patch bays carrying phantom. But heck if you don't need phantom power, and certainly if you have patch bays in the vicinity turn off phantom because somebody will find a way to **** things up.

Sent from my MacBook Pro using Google Chrome.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solo Button Triggers Listen Button in Nuendo KeyplayerG Artist Series 2 05-26-2020 05:25 PM
Real CPU Usage vs. Pro Tools System Usage Window tbonesteak4dinner Pro Tools 11 19 02-21-2019 08:04 PM
New dock solo button lower then mute button Sean Bombz Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 14 10-12-2017 06:05 AM
Stop button lighted,play button blinking not playing RichrdC Pro Tools 11 6 11-05-2016 05:48 PM
What would normal disk usage considered to be in the usage window? Digitopian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-08-2009 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com