Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-03-2014, 07:05 AM
Smithtrax Smithtrax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Muldrow, OK
Posts: 29
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMF Media View Post
Really would be worth doing this, there are a couple of guys on this forum particularly adept at deciphering UNIX command line stuff and Darryl is one! Pretty straight forward, just jump into your Applications folder, then the Utilities Folder and find the Console.app, double click and once open you'll see a "User Diagnostic Reports" header in the side bar on the left, click on the arrow and in the drop down you should find "Pro Tools_(todays date)_machine name etc... click on that then copy and paste the gibberish and hopefully it can shed some light on what's causing the MP to crash PT. I'm real interested as I ordered one of these beasties back in December and it's due to be delivered any day now.
Be good to shed some light
Okay, I am at my computer and did what you suggested and the only thing showing under the User Diagnostic Reports header is nothing related to AVID or ProTools. But further poking around I see the Files tab and ~/Library/Logs there is a Folder with Avid/Crashlog and 74 logs of me crashing. Every one of the logs are in complete jibberish....not so sure it would help your code guy... Every time I crash it sends a report straight to Avid unless it is a hard crash and shoots me straight to the finder. Most of the time it crashes and asks me if I want to send a report to Avid and I do because I want the problem fixed. If I was to copy one of these and paste it into a post not so sure it would take it it is so big...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2014, 07:14 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,577
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

The first order of business is to isolate the issue.

Remove all 3rd party plugs and do tests. Adding them back one at a time as Darryl said.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2014, 07:53 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

since it's not qualified - no it's not going to work.


http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...pple-Computers


FWIW Pro Tools 11 does not even work properly as it is toady on qualified machines!
Pro Tools 11 is a nightmare of bugs and work arounds and features that do not work as advertised as a client told me the the other day maybe Avid should should four on a stable product rather than releasing new versions that don't work properly.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2014, 09:01 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
since it's not qualified - no it's not going to work.


http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...pple-Computers

FWIW Pro Tools 11 does not even work properly as it is toady on qualified machines!
Pro Tools 11 is a nightmare of bugs and work arounds and features that do not work as advertised as a client told me the the other day maybe Avid should should four on a stable product rather than releasing new versions that don't work properly.

That is just incorrect. Pro Tools does not only run properly on "qualified" computers. They can be a guide to what to run on but Avid can barely keep up with new computer models. More useful information about what actually works well is found from user experiences in DUC.

Pro Tools 11 is working fine for many users, it seems to have some issues like crashing on exit problems but _some_ of those seem plugin related, and maybe several other inconveniences and issues that users have pointed out. What is needed in every case is to follow fairly standard troubleshooting steps, if folks want help here on DUC from other uses you really need to communicate exactly what your setup is and what troubleshooting steps you have tried. "The sky is falling" does not help anybody.

Pro Tools 11 contains massive engineering changes with a new audio engine, new 64 bit memory model and new AAX-64 plugins (some of which may be completely new, some ports from AAX-32). So there *are* going to be problems. Including a much higher risk of all these new plugins causing instability, so more reason to suspect plugins causing problems than usual. And the best way to *prove* the problem is in Pro Tools, not a plugin, is to physically remove all third party plugins.

Sending automatic crash reports into Avid is great, and likely the best way to get any bugs causing crashes within Pro Tools 11 to be addressed by Avid, and I hope Avid also uses those reports to help third party plugin vendors. But if you suspect a plugin take that up first with the plugin vendor. And if stuck after doing the usual troubleshooting found on DUC, and especially if it is affecting your business, pick up the phone and call Avid support, it amazes me how long some folks will suffer with problems and complain about things and they never do that.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-03-2014 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2014, 09:46 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithtrax View Post
Okay, I am at my computer and did what you suggested and the only thing showing under the User Diagnostic Reports header is nothing related to AVID or ProTools. But further poking around I see the Files tab and ~/Library/Logs there is a Folder with Avid/Crashlog and 74 logs of me crashing. Every one of the logs are in complete jibberish....not so sure it would help your code guy... Every time I crash it sends a report straight to Avid unless it is a hard crash and shoots me straight to the finder. Most of the time it crashes and asks me if I want to send a report to Avid and I do because I want the problem fixed. If I was to copy one of these and paste it into a post not so sure it would take it it is so big...

Mmm well that is not good news. The reports you are seeing are not what I was after. They should be the minidump reports from Google Breakpad. Avid (smartly) started using Google's Breakpad crash reporting system in Pro Tools 11 as a standard crash reporter on Windows and Mac. It should be possible for Breakpad to coexist with native OS X crash reporter, but if not setup to do this by the developer OS X crash reporter may never see the crash, and so the usual crash report in the console won't appear. I hope that is not what is happening here as it will be a pain in the ass for many people trying to troubleshoot things--but it is great you are sending the Breakpad minidump reports directly to Avid.

I am not sure what is happening with your "hard crashes" it may be a problem where breakpad is not correctly catching a crash. I would hope in those cases OS X catches it, but that might not happen. Those are pretty nasty problems for developers to debug. And sometimes those sort of "crashes" are actually not a crash, but a programming error where the application is just confused and intentionally exits.

Anyhow your first troubleshooting steps are obvious, remove all third party plugins, if that does not work then try a reinstall of Pro Tools 11 (with no third party plugins).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-03-2014 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2014, 02:23 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

? May or not be.
v1.6.49190 latest Motu MIDI driver
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-2014, 09:09 PM
derekvh derekvh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: los angeles
Posts: 19
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithtrax View Post
I have actually made every recommended setting as always that AVID says to do and still having the crash problems. Been using PT since version 4 so well aware of all the trouble shooting methods.. This one has me baffled. This is the most unstable ProTools I have ever used so this is why I felt the need to post...
seriously dont spend that kind of money and put in 16 gig of ram - my watch cant run on 16 gig of ram, how can the new mac pro with protools?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-03-2014, 09:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekvh View Post
seriously dont spend that kind of money and put in 16 gig of ram - my watch cant run on 16 gig of ram, how can the new mac pro with protools?
The problem as described will have nothing to do with this system having 16GB of memory. And which may be a completely fine amount of memory for whatever the user is doing.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-03-2014, 11:32 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,253
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

I am running 8 Gb in my macbook pro and I can run a lot of things without even reaching 50% of memory ... all my plugins with libraries also
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 11.3
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
Logic Pro X
Reason 11

UA Apollo 8p
Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Marshall Amp/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Yamaha FG820L/Martin DJr10e
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840/Slate VMS

http://www.youtube.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-06-2014, 10:55 PM
bzone bzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 72
Default Re: New MacPro & PT 11 beware...

Wow, I have not encompassed any of these issues, even with multiple tracks of audio. On Mac Pro 6 core, HDX, 64gig ram, HD IO, Burl IO, PT 11, all 64 though, have Sonnet Chassis, AAX native and DSP. Things have been so smooth I can' t believe it. Even VEP5 and VI's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious PT 11 bug, beware TimNielsen macOS 14 11-20-2013 05:18 PM
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM
BEWARE: PCIe Shipping in MacPro!!!! RobMacki Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-23-2006 07:07 PM
Beware of DUY RonB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-03-2006 02:17 PM
Buyers Beware ... lemix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-08-2006 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com