Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:25 PM
uneaq uneaq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default How to buy additional license?

I have searched thru 20+ pages and have not found my answer yet, so I will ask in a new thread....

My friend bought PT9 recently for us to use. We planned on having a setup at his house, on his mac, for recording... and a setup at my house, on windows, for mixing.

Of course we can do this and use the 1 single ilok included in the PT package. But how exactly can we go about getting another ilok, so we both can have 1?

He is signed up/registered on ilok.com..... So could we just buy a new ilok, and copy the assets from our current ilok, to a new one? So we'd then have 2?

This is what I'm confused on. I keep reading we must buy another license..but I have not found out how to go about doing so. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:37 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

what your are trying to do is piracy

you ether take the iLok to the place you want to use the software or go to the stor and pony up for another copy
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:42 PM
uneaq uneaq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
what your are trying to do is piracy

you ether take the iLok to the place you want to use the software or go to the stor and pony up for another copy


Piracy would be looking for a cracked version of Pro Tools or otherwise illegal version.... I'm asking how I can buy, from Avid, ilok, DigiDesign, etc.



I'm not looking for anything pirated. Looking to legitimately obtain/buy an extra ilok/license. I don't see how that is piracy.


So when you say "...or go to the store and pony up for another copy" You are saying we'd have to actually buy another copy of PT9? There is no way for any of the companies involved to sell just an extra ilok/license?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:57 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

I don't think there's a way to buy another full PT9 license (from Avid) without actually getting the boxed version. Doesn't look like there's a "license only" option to buy. So, where ever you picked up your current version of PT 9, purchase another copy.
__________________
Pro Tools, Studio One Pro
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max 64GB-1TB NVME
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Presonus Quantum
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
2020 Macbook Pro 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:59 PM
brickroadstudio brickroadstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

You would need to pay for another copy. You cant copy assets from one ilok to another-- that would defeat the whole point,
However, there are versions of pro tools you can buy that dont have mboxes or any other hardware connected, its cheaper.
Look on ebay, People sell ilok assets.
So you could, say, spend $100 on ebay for a pt 9 asset and that person can transfer it to your account, then you can put that on your other ilok and download the software and you are good to go and legal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:03 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,638
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by uneaq View Post
Piracy would be looking for a cracked version of Pro Tools or otherwise illegal version.... I'm asking how I can buy, from Avid, ilok, DigiDesign, etc.



I'm not looking for anything pirated. Looking to legitimately obtain/buy an extra ilok/license. I don't see how that is piracy.


So when you say "...or go to the store and pony up for another copy" You are saying we'd have to actually buy another copy of PT9? There is no way for any of the companies involved to sell just an extra ilok/license?
There was a time where Digidesign had more license for each clients, but then those clients turned around and started to sell the license, which were then used by people on the software they had downloaded via torrents sites. So it was decided that there would be only 1 license per software/ilock.

If you bought an other ilock you would only be able to transfer the license from the one you already owned to the new one, and the old ilock would not work with your pro tools as there would be no license on it any longer.

Wither or not your friend actually did buy the boxed version or the download version from Avid's site, Avid has no way to verify the legitimacy of the programs that is installed on your computer.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:12 PM
uneaq uneaq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
There was a time where Digidesign had more license for each clients, but then those clients turned around and started to sell the license, which were then used by people on the software they had downloaded via torrents sites. So it was decided that there would be only 1 license per software/ilock.

If you bought an other ilock you would only be able to transfer the license from the one you already owned to the new one, and the old ilock would not work with your pro tools as there would be no license on it any longer.

Wither or not your friend actually did buy the boxed version or the download version from Avid's site, Avid has no way to verify the legitimacy of the programs that is installed on your computer.

Ordered the **new**boxed version from Amazon.com, actually. But I understand what you're saying. thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:14 PM
uneaq uneaq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickroadstudio View Post
You would need to pay for another copy. You cant copy assets from one ilok to another-- that would defeat the whole point,
However, there are versions of pro tools you can buy that dont have mboxes or any other hardware connected, its cheaper.
Look on ebay, People sell ilok assets.
So you could, say, spend $100 on ebay for a pt 9 asset and that person can transfer it to your account, then you can put that on your other ilok and download the software and you are good to go and legal.

Thanks for your reply. I will look deeper into this to insure it is legal, and if so, will probably go that route. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:24 PM
brickroadstudio brickroadstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Its perfectly legal.
Pace charges you $25 to transfer your asset (which is property that you rightfully own) to another user.

If I wanted to sell you my Waves Q10 for example, I could sell it to you, or give it to you-- but I'd have to pay $25 to have them deposit that into your account.

This is legal because its not pirated, its still one license, thats paid for, just in the hand of another person.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:29 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,638
Default Re: How to buy additional license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickroadstudio View Post
Its perfectly legal.
Pace charges you $25 to transfer your asset (which is property that you rightfully own) to another user.

If I wanted to sell you my Waves Q10 for example, I could sell it to you, or give it to you-- but I'd have to pay $25 to have them deposit that into your account.

This is legal because its not pirated, its still one license, thats paid for, just in the hand of another person.
The only reason why it's legal, is because You no longer have the license after that. You wouldn't be able to use your q10 plugins due to no longer having the license to use it. Same goes for pro tools.

Here (the OP question) we were talking of having two instance of the same license on two different ilock, which is not legal.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not download Pro Tools 11 license to my iLok2 -incomplete license surrender issue StereoZzilla Pro Tools 11 10 01-04-2014 11:11 PM
Additional license PT10 Gravitytraffic Windows 0 10-27-2013 03:55 AM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 05:43 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
Additional license for Music Prod Toolkit? Fred Vigdor Tips & Tricks 5 02-11-2007 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com