Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2021, 08:32 PM
rockindon rockindon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Default Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

My firs post question. We'll see how this goes.
If I have 6 vocal tracks and I want to put 3 of them to one track and 3 to another so I can pan them left and right... how do I do that?
I have the latest Pro Tool as of Jan '21.
Thanks to one and all who can help.
P.S. I hope this was the correct place to post this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2021, 08:40 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockindon View Post
My firs post question. We'll see how this goes.
If I have 6 vocal tracks and I want to put 3 of them to one track and 3 to another so I can pan them left and right... how do I do that?
I have the latest Pro Tool as of Jan '21.
Thanks to one and all who can help.
P.S. I hope this was the correct place to post this.
Hey there, welcome to the forum!

I think what you're going to want is a stereo bus (this would give you most control).

Go to your I/O setup window, go to the bus tab, create a new stereo bus (call it whatever you like, I'll use "Vox Bus" for this), press ok.

Then, go to the I/O of your 6 vocal tracks. You can view this on the edit window but most commonly on the mix window. Change the output routing of all of the 6 vocal tracks to "Vox Bus". You can do this quickly but selecting all the tracks, then holding down shift+option while you change the output of any of the 6 tracks.

Create a new stereo aux track. Set its input to "Vox Bus", set its output to whatever your vocal tracks used to be.

Each of the 6 vocal tracks should have an independent panner. You can pan whichever 3 to one side and the other 3 to the other side (or anywhere in between that sounds cool).

Hope that helps! Have fun!
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2021, 12:52 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,915
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

Here's a simpler way to achieve the same thing:

(BTW, IMO the best name for this kind of thing is a 'submix'. A 'bus' is what we call the connection between a source and a destination in the PT mixer.)

Make shure I/O is showing on your tracks in mix window or edit window. Select the three tracks (so that their names are highlighted on the mixer and in the track list). While holding shift-opt, in the output selector on one of the tracks, select "New track…", set 'Format' to mono, set 'Type' to Aux, give it a name 'Vox Left' f.ex.

A new Aux track is created and the selected tracks will instantly be routed to it. (Holding option when you click on the output selector would have made this happen to all tracks, shift-opt means 'apply to selected tracks'. Same goes for many other operations in PT.)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2021, 01:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

I have even simpler solution for you. Select three vox tracks and group them, select another three vox tracks and group them too. Now the grouped three should have same pan setting, as in turn one pan knob and it will turn the others in the same group as well.

BUT, when you create the group, panning is not enabled by default (for obvious reasons), so you need to go to the group attributes tab to set it on. (another default would be to follow globals, so if you have that ticked you need to either enable it in globals, or disable the follow globals default option).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2021, 08:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,158
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

All good suggestions already, but, is there a reason to not simply set the PAN controls as you want and be done with it? This is the simplest route, and is what I usually do. Once panning is set and relative balance is set, I also tend to make a group of all BGV's(or assign them to a Routing Folder Track). Advantage of simple panning: its as simple as it gets. Advantage of Grouping: you can make things happen to all(in the group) with single commands. Advantage of a routing folder: you can process everything in that folder(like a master EQ for all BGV's). Lots of possibilities
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2021, 08:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

^^ what he said.

I am so oldskool I tend to think the analog console way. So I take my vox tracks, route them to a buss, process them on a buss, and the buss feeds the master.

If you want to do something else, the possibilities are limitless.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2021, 10:27 PM
rockindon rockindon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Default Re: Multiple Tracks To 1 Track

Thank you one and all for responding to my first ever question.
It is deeply appreciated. I have taken the input of everyone and have achieved the results that I was looking for.
Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mixing multiple tracks to a single stereo track billardis Windows 2 10-12-2013 04:36 PM
Combining multiple tracks into one track Sebastian C. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-09-2013 06:00 AM
Single track to multiple tracks or aux realizment Pro Tools 10 2 11-16-2012 11:28 PM
How do i track multiple midi tracks simultaneously? Bambison Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-04-2009 02:14 PM
How do you split one track into multiple tracks and burn ? psilyguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-11-2007 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com