Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:21 AM
martinh martinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: bolton
Posts: 6
Default HD i/o 96

Hi, I have an I/o 96 and was sold a spare one which was broken but with two functioning input and output cards. There is clearly 2 slots empty for 8 other ins and outs, so last night I stripped out the cards from the old unit and added the two cards to the functioning unit (slots 3 and 4) expecting to have 16 ins and 16 out. But no.

The device could not be found on the card, was the error message. No matter how much messing I could not get it to work. Even in the instruction manual they have 4 cards in place so am I doing something wrong or is it not actually designed to house 4 cards??

Thanks in advance to those smarter than me who can answer this question.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: HD i/o 96

Hi, welcome to the community.

It cannot be done. 96 is a special version that only accepts cards in slots one and two. But you now have some spare ones in case one of them breaks.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:26 AM
martinh martinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: bolton
Posts: 6
Default Re: HD i/o 96

Hi Janne,

Thanks for the reply and the welcome.

I suspected this to be the case but it is stupid. Why leave two spare slots and then make me connect a whole different unit?

Like you say, spare cards (or somewhere to put my cup of tea).

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: HD i/o 96

That's where Avid HD chassis fixed things. There are no limitations to card configurations. The chassis are all the same.

But the old blue DigiDesign interfaces were another story. All of them were different. The 96 (8in, 8out), the 96i (16in, 2out), the 192digital (16in, 16out, digital only), the 192analog (analog and digital, flexible configuration with the exception that slot 3 must be digital card or empty).

So in other words you need the gray Avid HD chassis for 16 analog inputs and 16 analog outputs.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:31 AM
martinh martinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: bolton
Posts: 6
Default Re: HD i/o 96

Time to spend some more money LOL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: HD i/o 96

Oh, and if you buy another chassis later, bear in mind that old DigiDesign cards cannot be used in new Avid chassis and vice versa.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:33 AM
martinh martinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: bolton
Posts: 6
Default Re: HD i/o 96

cool thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2021, 07:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,118
Default Re: HD i/o 96

no problem
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com