How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-26-2021, 07:14 PM

Default No play, just blinks, and no sound

Hello,

I'm new to pro tools and I'm familiar with logic. I'm using windows 10 pro with no audio interface yet. I'm using an HDMI cable from desktop CPU to smart tv as my monitor. I opened a funk template track that shows midi notes on two separate tracks. But when I press play, the play button just blinks. I've adjusted the cursor at different locations on the track and still no movement. Changed my bit/sample rating before launching a template track and it played. So, now I see levels in the mix but no sound. Tried switching the playback engine to the Samsung tv output and PT says it has to close the track to use that output. But when I open it back up and search the output, it goes back to the default. Cant wait to get sound .................. SMH

Last edited by qmusic; 06-26-2021 at 07:45 PM.
Old 06-27-2021, 11:02 AM

Default Re: No play, just blinks, and no sound

Random thoughts:
1-get an interface. Using the HDMI out MIGHT work, but it might not work. Rather than chase your tail, use a dedicated interface with proper drivers for Windows 10 and life will be significantly easier.
2-re midi notes on a track....is it a MIDI track or an INSTRUMENT track? In both cases, midi makes no sound on its own(even though it may well trigger the track meter). The midi notes(and other midi info) need to "drive" a VI plugin(VI standing for Virtual Instrument). How can you tell if the track is MIDI or INSTRUMENT? Easy; INSTRUMENT tracks will have 2 PAN knobs(like a stereo AUDIO track). A MIDI track will not. Assuming an INSTRUMENT track, insert a VI plugin like MiniGrand in the top slot. That will give the midi notes something to "play".