Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2017, 09:15 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 562
Default 7.1 and XMon?

Anyone have a good method for doing a 7.1 mix using the XMon?
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2017, 01:14 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 763
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoof View Post
Anyone have a good method for doing a 7.1 mix using the XMon?
XMon is compatible with 7.1 monitoring. Is that what you are asking? It has several 7.1 (8cn) inputs and outputs for switch the source and destinations.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2017, 03:31 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

But only with D Control, not D Command if I remember correctly.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2017, 03:59 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 763
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

True, but technically you don't need a console to run it. The XMon is controlled by the mac/pc app.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2017, 05:41 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 569
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

I didn't know there was a standalone app... do you have a link, by chance?

Thanks!

Rob B
aka mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com

PTHD Ultimate/Eucon (latest betas) / Mac Studio Ultra 128GB RAM / Aja T-Tap / Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe 8TB / Focusrite 16Line / MTRX Studio / UAD Octo / 32 channel S1 & Dock (5) 2019 Fire HD 10 / Dolby Atmos 9.1.4 /Mastering Suite / 13.0 Sony 360RA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2017, 06:43 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 763
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

I found this with a quick Google search. This should be it:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ware-for-EUCON

It has to be connected to the computer via MIDI. If you don't already have something, any $5 USB-to-MIDI whip should work.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old XMon on S6? paulo m Avid S4/S6 15 08-20-2014 03:22 AM
Wtb - xmon Mike Landolt Buy & Sell 1 07-26-2014 05:57 PM
Xmon mod?? mtung ICON & C|24 0 10-01-2009 05:16 AM
Xmon?? bstroner ICON & C|24 5 04-01-2009 05:47 PM
XMON tstemland ICON & C|24 2 03-23-2006 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com