Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 07:16 PM
JohnnyStalde JohnnyStalde is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2
Default Instrument track will record, but no notes appear?

First off, im a beginner, so please forgive me if i am being an idiot. My problem is that I am trying to record midi on an instrument track using my mouse on the midi editor (until i get a midi keyboard controller) but when i record the midi, i can hear the notes, i see the blue recorded box appear, but no notes. Why is this? I am able to use the midi editor and click in notes, but thatis just a bit too time consuming. Please help me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 08:06 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,362
Default Re: Instrument track will record, but no notes appear?

I don't think you can RECORD midi using the mouse. You CAN use the mouse to click and drop notes on the piano roll. You should be using a STEREO instrument track and make sure the VI is inserted in the top slot(slot A). If you look up to the right of the counter(in the EDIT window) there is a box that addresses midi. In the lower right corner of that box is a velocity value for notes that you drop with the mouse. Click on it and run the mouse up(or down) to choose a default velocity(I like 105-110 for drum sounds). It5 might be worth a trip to youtube.com to watch some videos. BTW, once you DO get a midi controller, you need to do 2 things to make it work. 1-install the drivers for your OS, and 2-go to Setup>Midi>Midi Studio and create an instrument(your controller), assign the correct port(where it plugins in, such as USB or Mbox midi in) and close the window(BTW, the brand and model info are totally optional). That's the basic setup for a single controller and should get you going. Later, when you need a more complex setup, you can dig in there and get fancy, but what I laid out is what you need to be functional
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2011, 07:14 PM
JohnnyStalde JohnnyStalde is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Instrument track will record, but no notes appear?

Really? I could've sworn I have seen videos of people using the mouse to record. I know that when I select the record button, it records blank midi, and no notes appear even if I hit the notes on the piano roll. What I am going to attempt to do is to just buy the MIDI keyboard and hope it works. If it doesn't, I'll take this further.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2011, 08:10 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 632
Default Re: Instrument track will record, but no notes appear?

Perhaps your Track View Selection is something other than Notes? It's probably defaulting to Regions.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:44 AM
GeoffLee GeoffLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 268
Default Re: Instrument track will record, but no notes appear?

I'd lay money on Bob being right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument track issue, hear midi notes,but wont record siga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-19-2012 02:11 PM
Midi/Instrument drum track notes do not correspond qingcong Pro Tools 9 6 08-05-2011 09:09 AM
Delayed MIDI notes in instrument track v.a.s.t Pro Tools 9 5 12-05-2010 08:54 AM
How do i record MIDI notes as an audio track?? Edifice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-31-2008 11:23 AM
Record MIDI track Then Record Again To Add Aditional Notes + JCWarrior Tips & Tricks 5 04-13-2007 03:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com