Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2010, 12:32 AM
Rescued Rescued is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: El Dorado County, CA
Posts: 5
Question SATA or ATA

If having an internal SATA drive (150Mbps) and and internal IDE drive which one should the OS and Pro Tools LE be on leaving the other for the session files?

Rescued
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2010, 06:21 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: SATA or ATA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rescued View Post
If having an internal SATA drive (150Mbps) and and internal IDE drive which one should the OS and Pro Tools LE be on leaving the other for the session files?

Rescued
Assuming the SATA drive is the faster of the two I would put the OS on the ATA drive.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:10 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,357
Default Re: SATA or ATA

I would do the same.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2010, 09:22 AM
Rescued Rescued is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: El Dorado County, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: SATA or ATA

Sunburst79 and Albee1952....Thanks. That was my initial idea and then I became unsure, obviously since I asked the question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ? toneski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-06-2008 12:18 PM
PT and SATA HD studio rec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-13-2006 09:24 AM
Do SATA Controllers/ PCI Cards/ SATA Drives work.. Jason Robo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-14-2005 07:23 PM
Onboard SATA + PCI SATA + Protools LE = bootcrash? insolace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-10-2005 11:06 AM
SATA vs ATA? MadeByNick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-09-2003 06:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com