Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2010, 09:20 PM
David Sandwisch David Sandwisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Cupertino, California
Posts: 286
Default Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Hi Everyone,

It's been a few years since my last post but my homemade P4 Xenon system with an original HD Core and Process card (HD2) has been running faithfully for 7+ years now. This forum has always been a valuable source of information and helped me build 2 custom computers as well as solve a few issues. I value everyone's input and hope I may share my own experiences to add to the wealth of information gathered.

My Windows XP PTHD2 computer has been running great as mentioned above but I think it's time to start thinking about upgrading to a faster processor, more ram, SATA hard drives etc... Essentially I want to build a new computer using the latest technology but still be able to use my original PCI ProTools HD cards.

I will read up on the many posts in this forum but it's a little overwhelming as I've been unable to keep up the last few years. Here are my questions and please feel free to ask me anything. I thank you in advance.

Does anyone have experience building a computer with Intel Quad Core processors and MB to run the original PTHD cards?

Are there any current modern motherboards that support 2 full length PCI slots next to each other that my cards will be happy with? It's been awhile since I researched MBs but everything these days seems to come with PCI-x etc... and I need original PCI slots, 2 at that.

Once I know what motherboard will work, building the rest of the computer is pretty straight forward. My goal is to end up with Windows 7 and PT 8. Currently I'm on 7.3 still on XP pro. I don't really have any other parts from my current computer I care about saving. Hard drives, ram, processor, graphics will all be new.

Basically my goal is to avoid having to exchange my 2 PTHD cars for the current Accel models as the price is quite large. FWIW I'm using a 96 I/O but that's still current and should be the same in a new system.

What do you guys think?

Thanks,
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2010, 09:46 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Sandwisch View Post
Hi Everyone,

It's been a few years since my last post but my homemade P4 Xenon system with an original HD Core and Process card (HD2) has been running faithfully for 7+ years now. This forum has always been a valuable source of information and helped me build 2 custom computers as well as solve a few issues. I value everyone's input and hope I may share my own experiences to add to the wealth of information gathered.

My Windows XP PTHD2 computer has been running great as mentioned above but I think it's time to start thinking about upgrading to a faster processor, more ram, SATA hard drives etc... Essentially I want to build a new computer using the latest technology but still be able to use my original PCI ProTools HD cards.

I will read up on the many posts in this forum but it's a little overwhelming as I've been unable to keep up the last few years. Here are my questions and please feel free to ask me anything. I thank you in advance.

Does anyone have experience building a computer with Intel Quad Core processors and MB to run the original PTHD cards?

Are there any current modern motherboards that support 2 full length PCI slots next to each other that my cards will be happy with? It's been awhile since I researched MBs but everything these days seems to come with PCI-x etc... and I need original PCI slots, 2 at that.

Once I know what motherboard will work, building the rest of the computer is pretty straight forward. My goal is to end up with Windows 7 and PT 8. Currently I'm on 7.3 still on XP pro. I don't really have any other parts from my current computer I care about saving. Hard drives, ram, processor, graphics will all be new.

Basically my goal is to avoid having to exchange my 2 PTHD cars for the current Accel models as the price is quite large. FWIW I'm using a 96 I/O but that's still current and should be the same in a new system.

What do you guys think?

Thanks,
David
Best board for HD PCI with a Core 2 Quad is the ASUS P5WDG2-WS-Pro. If you can still find one. They are worth seeking out. Grab a Core 2 Quad Q9550 while they are still cheap. Grab 4GB of Corsair XMS DDR2 800 with timing specs of 4-4-4-12 and a ATI video card with a minimal amount of memory. The P5WDG2-Pro has 2 PCI-X slots and 2 PCI slots. This will let you run up to HD3 and you will have tons of RTAS. This board has been used on 4-5 HD builds - Nick H, Bob Nagy, Guitarzan and a few others. This is probably the most trouble free of all the HD compatible boards.

Moving my LE rig from a P4 3.4GHz to a Q6600 picked me up about 700% more RTAS power.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2010, 05:26 AM
lifer lifer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 330
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

You could build an i7 core 860 system with twice the power of a Q6600!
There are a few motherboards with 3 consecutive PCI slots for these too.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Gigab...rboard-LGA1156
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/MSI-P...rboard-LGA1156
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Asus-...rboard-LGA1156

CPU
http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?W...source=froogle
Its my next upgrade too!
Hope this helps
Lifer
__________________
Win 7 Pro 64
PT 10 HD, HD4 Accel
Jetway JNAF92-Q67
Intel 2700k 3.8ghz
16GB Crucial Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2010, 02:21 PM
Bender412 Bender412 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 34
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Best board for HD PCI with a Core 2 Quad is the ASUS P5WDG2-WS-Pro. If you can still find one. They are worth seeking out. Grab a Core 2 Quad Q9550 while they are still cheap. Grab 4GB of Corsair XMS DDR2 800 with timing specs of 4-4-4-12 and a ATI video card with a minimal amount of memory. The P5WDG2-Pro has 2 PCI-X slots and 2 PCI slots. This will let you run up to HD3 and you will have tons of RTAS. This board has been used on 4-5 HD builds - Nick H, Bob Nagy, Guitarzan and a few others. This is probably the most trouble free of all the HD compatible boards.

Moving my LE rig from a P4 3.4GHz to a Q6600 picked me up about 700% more RTAS power.

Hey Sunburst, I could be wrong, but I don't think the P5WDG2-Pro can run the Q9550. When I was researching that MB (which I currently use), I thought I read that it can't use the 45nm processors. Or is it just that the board wouldn't take advantage of a 45nm chip? Are they the same form factor? Anyway, that's why I went with the Q6700 when I built my system.

Also, why do you say it can run "up to HD3"? Aren't a few ppl running an HD4 on it? BrandonX for one I think?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2010, 02:33 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender412 View Post
Hey Sunburst, I could be wrong, but I don't think the P5WDG2-Pro can run the Q9550. When I was researching that MB (which I currently use), I thought I read that it can't use the 45nm processors. Or is it just that the board wouldn't take advantage of a 45nm chip? Are they the same form factor? Anyway, that's why I went with the Q6700 when I built my system.

Also, why do you say it can run "up to HD3"? Aren't a few ppl running an HD4 on it? BrandonX for one I think?
Is BrandonX running HD4? I wasn't aware of that. I know Hick H had HD3. Bob Nagy said HD3 was doable but HD 4 looked iffy. I was under the impression that the 45nm stuff like the 9550 would drop in. I know that the P965 chipset the BIOS was updated to work with the newer procs. I suppose that I should check ASUS since I may be wrong there. Thanks for pointing that out. I recommended DDR800 because even though the board states somewhere it will run the RAM at 1066 (OC) I know that Nick was limited to DDR2 889 and Bob Nagy was running DDR2 800.

EDIT: You are correct. The fastest Core 2 Quads supported by the P5WDG2 are the Q6xxx series. While ASUS updated the P965 they never updated the 975X. I have a P5B (965) and updated it to a Q9450. My bad.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:44 PM
David Sandwisch David Sandwisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Cupertino, California
Posts: 286
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

So has anyone successfully built a system for an orginal HD core and HD process card (PCI 32 bit non-accel) with the new I series of chips from Intel?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2010, 03:36 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Sandwisch View Post
So has anyone successfully built a system for an orginal HD core and HD process card (PCI 32 bit non-accel) with the new I series of chips from Intel?
I just built an asus Asus P6T WS Pro (Core i7 xeon) workstation motherboard HD rig and I could not be hapier.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:16 PM
David Sandwisch David Sandwisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Cupertino, California
Posts: 286
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

And you have the original HD cards? Is Windows 7 stable with the original 32 bit cards? I need a MB with 2 PCI slots for my original 32 bit cards, that MB only has 1 of those.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:50 PM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

We run our PCI HD2 rig with an i7. The computer build we used is in my digi profile if you'd like the details.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:22 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Re: Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Sandwisch View Post
And you have the original HD cards? Is Windows 7 stable with the original 32 bit cards? I need a MB with 2 PCI slots for my original 32 bit cards, that MB only has 1 of those.
Yes the original HD cards. PCI x. That MB has 2 PCIX slots next to each other. I use a chassis tho. It's the older p7r464 chassis. It works great tho.
Best,
Brandon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the thermal output/heat load of HD core cards and process cards? yosemitesam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-24-2011 02:39 PM
Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards David Sandwisch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 48 08-28-2011 02:19 PM
PTLE 002 Motherboards for Dual Core Systems!? Yehudah R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-12-2006 06:23 AM
PCI-X G5 and HD core and process cards Charles Schaefer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-26-2005 02:23 PM
WARNING Abit BX6 Motherboards don't support MIX Core Cards! Corey Shay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-15-2000 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com