Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2022, 01:32 PM
VisionsMusicGroup VisionsMusicGroup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 27
Default Digi 003 Firewire on macOS Monterey

Stop laughing. I'm serious :)

Is this even possible? I have a 2015 iMac 5k macOS Monterey 12.5.1, running PT 2022.07, and while shopping for a control surface, it occurred to me I have this old Digidesign 003 in a closet.

Dug it out, bought the Firewire->Thunderbolt connectors and plugged it in, powered up. Naturally, macOS Monterey didn't just magically find such an ancient gem as the 003.

It was too much to hope Avid kept updating the 003 Family drivers beyond Yosemite... I think they stopped in 2016, and that Family driver is incompatible with Monterey; simply aborts no matter what I try.

Question: Aside from the "Yah it's old, get a new one" answers... is it possible to get the 003 console to work on Monterey? If not, I can relegate it back to a Windows PC where things tend to still work decades after everyone else has moved on

Thank you in advance,
Jc
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)/32GB RAM/MacOS 12.6/PT2022.9 - Hardware: Mackie DL32R, MOTU Express 128, S3+Dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2022, 01:45 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,315
Default Re: Digi 003 Firewire on macOS Monterey

-> https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...02-003-Drivers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2022, 02:55 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,912
Default Re: Digi 003 Firewire on macOS Monterey

If you could roll back to Catalina, a very good version of MacOS in my opinion, the Plyotec USB Audio Driver might have been an inexpensive solution. It doesn't work on OSX above 10.15.

More details and link here:
(Scroll down to the last post.)
Mbox Not Updating with Current Driver
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired. Ben's Blog
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2022, 06:47 PM
VisionsMusicGroup VisionsMusicGroup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 27
Default Re: Digi 003 Firewire on macOS Monterey

Thanks for trying. If you follow that link yourself, you'll clearly see Monterey is nowhere on that list as I mentioned in my OP

Code:
Support for macOS Sierra 10.12
Also supports Mac OS X 10.8.5, 10.9.5, 10.10.5 and 10.11-10.11.6
Support for 003 Rack and Console
Pretty sure Monterey is 12.6 currently, which is what I was asking about.


@Benn Jenssen, thank you and you are probably right, unfortunately I cannot roll the mac back that far for other reasons and compatibilities, so I gave up and bought a used S3 Loving it so far.
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)/32GB RAM/MacOS 12.6/PT2022.9 - Hardware: Mackie DL32R, MOTU Express 128, S3+Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2023, 08:44 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,831
Default Re: Digi 003 Firewire on macOS Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionsMusicGroup View Post
Stop laughing. I'm serious :)

Is this even possible? I have a 2015 iMac 5k macOS Monterey 12.5.1, running PT 2022.07, and while shopping for a control surface, it occurred to me I have this old Digidesign 003 in a closet.

Dug it out, bought the Firewire->Thunderbolt connectors and plugged it in, powered up. Naturally, macOS Monterey didn't just magically find such an ancient gem as the 003.

It was too much to hope Avid kept updating the 003 Family drivers beyond Yosemite... I think they stopped in 2016, and that Family driver is incompatible with Monterey; simply aborts no matter what I try.

Question: Aside from the "Yah it's old, get a new one" answers... is it possible to get the 003 console to work on Monterey? If not, I can relegate it back to a Windows PC where things tend to still work decades after everyone else has moved on

Thank you in advance,
Jc
Try rolling back too Big Sur >
youtube.com/watch?v=662ZUo15Cnc
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MOJAVE 10.14.6 - PT 2022.7 / 003 CONSOLE / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey Mixmaster Rick Pro Tools 20 Yesterday 07:50 AM
macOS Monterey 12.5 Daveporter33765 macOS 33 09-03-2022 08:51 AM
Avid Quartet and macOS Monterey gng75 Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 0 04-24-2022 06:41 PM
macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported! DerrickC Pro Tools 62 04-01-2022 02:31 AM
Mbox3 pro MacOs Monterey SIP suggested Madsvigeholm macOS 5 12-28-2021 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com