Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2008, 08:14 AM
msv81 msv81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools 7.4 freezes and crashes when recording - HELP!

I have encountered a major issue with Pro Tools functionality, and after looking all over the internet and digidesign's support pages, I have yet to find a resolution. Perhaps someone here can at least get me started.

I recently installed an 1814 Firewire interface and Pro Tools 7.4 on a brand new Dell XPS 420 running Windows Vista Home Premium (32 bit). The machine has 4GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD space, and is running on an Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66 GHz processor, so it is obviously more than capable of handling Pro Tools software. Once I got everything set up correctly, I opened Pro Tools, made a new session, created several tracks, then hit "record". It records for approximately 10 to 15 seconds before freezing and eventually crashing. I've been forced to open task manager and manually quit out of the program, also. Every time this happens, my machine needs to be rebooted before I can open Pro Tools again. I've tried re-doing the entire process, but every single time it freezes in the same place and subsequently crashes.

Has anyone encountered a similar issue? Is there anything someone can suggest to help alleviate this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2008, 08:43 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.4 freezes and crashes when recording - HELP!

Quote:
I recently installed an 1814 Firewire interface and Pro Tools 7.4 on a brand new Dell XPS 420 running Windows Vista Home Premium (32 bit). The machine has 4GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD space, and is running on an Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66 GHz processor, so it is obviously more than capable of handling Pro Tools software.
While it may be capable of handling Pro Tools in a glancing look, capable and compatible are two totally separate things.

To help you diagnose and troubleshoot your problem, we need more detailed information about your system. Please read through the General Troubleshooting post above. There you will find compatibility information, configuration suggestions, and instructions for posting details about your computer.

There is also a download link there for the Tech Support Folder. You should also download that, run the Tech Support Utility that is inside, and run item #3. Generate Version List. If you would, please post that information as well, as it will allow us to eliminate other software compatibility issues.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools M-Powered Freezes When Recording pamc Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 11-19-2012 10:14 AM
Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording darksun production 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 04-17-2010 09:12 AM
Newbie question - Pro Tools freezes when recording audio dewartjr Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 10-30-2009 09:27 PM
Recording Midi freezes hangs Pro Tools jallen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2007 06:17 AM
Pro Tools crashes when recording in 24bit spreing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-07-2004 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com