Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2005, 11:43 AM
autopilot autopilot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 56
Default Help Setting up Machine Control 2 in OS X

I've already read through all of the digi material on this and I am still left with some quesitons...

I have Machine Control v2 and want to control a Fostex D-15 over 9 Pin Serial. The Keyspan USA-28x looks like it converts usb to an 8 pin Din but NOT 9 pin Serial. Do I need to buy a special serial cable to go out of the Keyspan and into my DAT deck?

As always, any help and anyone with experience is greatly appreciated....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:32 AM
SFXPost SFXPost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Orefield, PA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Help Setting up Machine Control 2 in OS X

Yes, this is the same setup that we have (although not the same deck). Get the Keyspan USA-28x and then this cable:
http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...asterid=433170

and you should be golden.

Holley
www.creativesoundstudios.com
__________________
www.creativesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:39 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,313
Default Re: Help Setting up Machine Control 2 in OS X

The cable is very easily made.

Cut one end off of a 8 pin/8 pin Mac serial cable, and solder a 9-pin (Radio Shack).
Wiring specs can be found in the machine control manual here online.
I've made 3 already.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:15 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Help Setting up Machine Control 2 in OS X

Quote:
Wiring specs can be found in the machine control manual here online.
I've made 3 already.
Did Digidesign correct the error in the MachineControl guide? In the printed guide I have, if you make a cable based on their pinouts, it will not work!
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Machine Control setting for Sony XD Cam Eric Seaberg Post - Surround - Video 3 08-19-2011 06:39 PM
Help setting up drum machine as MIDI slave cometsincaves macOS 4 08-06-2011 09:31 PM
Setting up Machine Control option on MIX system mrcomber24 Post - Surround - Video 4 02-14-2009 02:40 PM
Setting up Machine Control option on MIX system mrcomber24 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-10-2009 03:15 PM
Help with setting up Drum Machine jpoprock MIDI 4 08-02-2002 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com