Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2005, 12:12 PM
CrateDigger CrateDigger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default Control Surface for PTMP

Some people may already know this but for those who dont...If you want a control surface for your Pro Tools M-Powered system but are on a budget and can't afford one such as the Command8 or Mackie Control, The Behringer BCF2000 has a hidden Mackie BabyHui preset added to the units firmwear and can be activated very easily with the touch of a button. You can then tell Pro Tools you are using the Mackie BabyHui in the Control Surfaces Setup Menu...Its as easy as that..Hands-on-Control at a fraction of the price...Its has increased my workflow a greatdeal, now I can make slight automation changes without the use of the mouse..A Preset guide is available from their website with all the instructions in Pdf format...I hope this Helps someone and is explained well enough.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:45 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

or this...
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...ixIO-main.html
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2005, 08:24 AM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP



M-Audio Project Mix I/O v The Behringer BCF2000 -


wow...a whopping $1050 difference in price.
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2005, 08:42 AM
estregan estregan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 13
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Quote:


M-Audio Project Mix I/O v The Behringer BCF2000 -


wow...a whopping $1050 difference in price.
Yup! That's because Project Mix I/O is like a Digi 002, only better and cheaper IMHO
__________________
-Norman-
M-Audio ProjectMix I/O,PTMP 7.1, A64 x2 3800+, MSI K8T Neo2-F v2.0, 2 Gb RAM, Win XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2005, 04:59 PM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP



Yeah, that may be true,

but the BCF2000 is still the " budget daw controller" as the poster put it.


The Project Mix I/O is something I shall consider if I win the lottery
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2005, 04:49 AM
magiccafe magiccafe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Anyone tried the Kenton Control Freak??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:03 AM
R1ch R1ch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 178
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Hey Crate Digger,

Have you managed to turn automation on from the BCF???
__________________
New to Maschine and the Maschine Studio Controller? Click below to get started...
Maschine Minute Tips
FREE VST's for Maschine
Blog For Beats Facebook
My Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:50 AM
CrateDigger CrateDigger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Yes...once you have activated BabyHui mode, the 'edit' button on the bcf2000 becomes the shift button (2nd fuction button). Then solo's 1-4 (the first 4 buttons under the encoders) become the automation functions (off, read, write and touch) for the selected track...I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:58 AM
Fingermouse Fingermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Thanks for the original post, CrateDigger...

I wasn't previously aware of the BCF2000's emulation modes so was still looking elsewhere for a decent control surface for ProTools. I've got an Event EZbus which I use with SONAR, but since reading your post and subsequently having a good trawl online for reviews, I now have a BCF2000. It's exactly what I was looking for at a fraction of the price I was afraid it was going to cost...

So now I've got a slightly odd setup with an EZbus working as a control surface for SONAR (where most of my virtual synths live) connected via ADAT lightpipe to my FW1814, which feeds into PTMP and is controlled by the BCF2000. SONAR and PTMP are on different computers and linked together by MIDI... If PTMP 7's MIDI capabilities are considerably better than the current version, I might one day be able to drop SONAR completly (Pro Tools is just so much better for audio).

With sufficiently long power and USB leads, the BCF2000 is also just about small enough that it's possible to cart it around my studio and maintain pretty good control no matter what instrument I'm in front of. Definitely recommended.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2005, 01:39 PM
R1ch R1ch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 178
Default Re: Control Surface for PTMP

Quote:
Yes...once you have activated BabyHui mode, the 'edit' button on the bcf2000 becomes the shift button (2nd fuction button). Then solo's 1-4 (the first 4 buttons under the encoders) become the automation functions (off, read, write and touch) for the selected track...I hope this helps.
@CrateDigger, Yah I'm aware of this but to no prevail, nothing seems to happen.

I believe you press shift+solo3 (to write automation) and push in the encoder that corresponds to the track you want to write to.
__________________
New to Maschine and the Maschine Studio Controller? Click below to get started...
Maschine Minute Tips
FREE VST's for Maschine
Blog For Beats Facebook
My Twitter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 12:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM
Control Surface - Behringer B Control Fader BCF200 ironfin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-14-2005 10:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com