Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #5361  
Old 03-28-2006, 09:11 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: SLOW BOOT

Quote:
Hey Allen I just built your Allenstein system everything works great except I'm having trouble with boot up it's very,very slow it lags on the on the black Windows XP black screen with the blue scroll line for about a Min and then lags on the blue " Windows is starting up" for another two Min. Any info you might have on this would be helpful.

Thanks, Roland
Roland,
Check your bios and change the settings to allow for quick boot.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #5362  
Old 03-29-2006, 06:48 AM
Huggybaby Huggybaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Near Atlanta, GA
Posts: 13
Default Re: SLOW BOOT

Diazman,

Boot times that long are probably related to a bad driver trying to install itself. Usually it's a network driver.

Bootvis will show you how long it takes for any particular item to load http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=664.

When you install Windows, the only nVidia drivers you need are for the "system". Don't use the IDE or sound or firewall or any other drivers.
__________________
PTLE 7.1cs6/MBox2/WindowsXP Pro/AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/2x1024MB RAM/1 WD Boot 7200RPM PATA/Radeon x700PRO 256MB/DavecII Lvl 8/9
Reply With Quote
  #5363  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:22 PM
delay1968 delay1968 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hi,

I am currently running an 001 with PT 6.4 in my studio. My current machine has a Northwood P4 3.06/512k cache (the fastest/largest cache chip my Gigabyte GA-8PE800 moboard can take), 512mb pc2700 ram (another gig is on the way), 80gb system and 160gb audio 2mb cache ATA100 7200 rpm drives.

Everything runs smoothly but my CPU still gets a little bogged down if I use a lot of plugins. I need a new computer for my home anyway (the P3 700 isn't cutting it anymore), so I am thinking of taking my current studio computer home and building a new PC for the studio.

So here's my question... Being that I am still using 6.4 and an 001 (often with 16 channels in and out, btw), what newer technology can I get away with using and how much will that help? The compatability lists for 001/6.4 are a bit out of date, for obvious reasons. So which of the following can I use successfully?

Dual core chips? if not, what's the best way to go (speed and cache size)?
DDR2 memory?
SATA? RAID? 10000rpm? drives
Anything else? Anything to stay away from?
I've only used Intel stuff so far, but I'd consider AMD, since that seems to be favored here...

Is any of this worth it, if indeed compatible with my old digi stuff? Will it make much of a difference?
Can I really not use anything above 6.4 with the 001?

Can I make a worthwhile system that will blow away my current one for around $700-$800 (not including monitor)? IF faster or SATA dirves won't help much or are incompatible, I'll happily move my old 80/160 drives to the new machine and save some cash.

Sorry if this is ground that has been covered but this thread is HUGE and I've driven myself crazy already trying to find the applicable info...

Thanks

Mitch
Reply With Quote
  #5364  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:35 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Quote:
Hi,

I am currently running an 001 with PT 6.4 in my studio. My current machine has a Northwood P4 3.06/512k cache (the fastest/largest cache chip my Gigabyte GA-8PE800 moboard can take), 512mb pc2700 ram (another gig is on the way), 80gb system and 160gb audio 2mb cache ATA100 7200 rpm drives.

Everything runs smoothly but my CPU still gets a little bogged down if I use a lot of plugins. I need a new computer for my home anyway (the P3 700 isn't cutting it anymore), so I am thinking of taking my current studio computer home and building a new PC for the studio.

So here's my question... Being that I am still using 6.4 and an 001 (often with 16 channels in and out, btw), what newer technology can I get away with using and how much will that help? The compatability lists for 001/6.4 are a bit out of date, for obvious reasons. So which of the following can I use successfully?

Dual core chips? if not, what's the best way to go (speed and cache size)?
DDR2 memory?
SATA? RAID? 10000rpm? drives
Anything else? Anything to stay away from?
I've only used Intel stuff so far, but I'd consider AMD, since that seems to be favored here...

Is any of this worth it, if indeed compatible with my old digi stuff? Will it make much of a difference?
Can I really not use anything above 6.4 with the 001?

Can I make a worthwhile system that will blow away my current one for around $700-$800 (not including monitor)? IF faster or SATA dirves won't help much or are incompatible, I'll happily move my old 80/160 drives to the new machine and save some cash.

Sorry if this is ground that has been covered but this thread is HUGE and I've driven myself crazy already trying to find the applicable info...

Thanks

Mitch
Mitch,
For the 001 go with either the K8V or A8V motherboard and the fastest AMD 64 single core you can afford. Don't spend exuberant amounts on ram , hard drives etc. and keep it simple.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #5365  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:52 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Opterons hit 3.0 GHz

Get those Quads built boys. They can be had for about $200 more than the Allenstein 4800X2 system.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5366  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:14 AM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 481
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Whats the current best dave c test now? Is the landmark sitll the 490 D-verb quad? on the quad opteron 270? Im looking at building a quad 280 soon - COME ON!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5367  
Old 03-31-2006, 09:59 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 600
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

The specs I read for the Allenstein contain a dual 2.4 Ghz CPU ( Athlon 64 4800).

I know the first post of this thread with the specs is regularly updated to be current. But I guess what I'm wondering is, without reading through over 200 pages of posts or at least the last few months worth, that I hear talk of "quad" this and that. Are the Allenstein specs what I would want to do to get as much power as possible? And if so, will that be a significant increase from my P4 3.4ghz?

thanks in advance......
Reply With Quote
  #5368  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:25 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Quote:
Whats the current best dave c test now? Is the landmark sitll the 490 D-verb quad? on the quad opteron 270?
Yes.

Quote:
Im looking at building a quad 280 soon - COME ON!!!
Hurry up and build it. We need more Quad users here.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5369  
Old 03-31-2006, 04:03 PM
estregan estregan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 13
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

I'm thinking of upgrading to the cheaper allenstein (under $600) and I'd like to get MSI K8T Neo2-F (similar to Asus A8V) which supports Athlon X2 via bios update. Does anyone know if I need to reinstall Windows XP if I change mobo and processor? Any help will be much appreciated.
__________________
-Norman-
M-Audio ProjectMix I/O,PTMP 7.1, A64 x2 3800+, MSI K8T Neo2-F v2.0, 2 Gb RAM, Win XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5370  
Old 03-31-2006, 04:57 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

i am ready to order everything now for the dual core, now i see 200.00 more for a quad, which is fine with me. could i get some kind of a list like on the first page of this thread for parts for the quad or at least what is different, processor, motherboard, ram, cooling, special case? all that good stuff. thank you. and let you know asap
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 05:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 09:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 11:06 AM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 09:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 07:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com