Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-17-2023, 02:00 PM
mumblebee mumblebee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: S1 recommended router

IT WORKED!!!!!

Thank you, Eddie! Have a fantastic weekend.

Best,

M

Last edited by mumblebee; 03-17-2023 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-17-2023, 02:21 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,641
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Nice one...enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-30-2023, 10:49 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Hi Eddie! Thanks so much for your help. I have a simple question that you can likely easily answer. I am setting up a system with 3xS1 and a dock, each with a tablet. All the small routers I see have four LAN ports and one WAN, and a USB. How do I connect the four Avid devices to the computer with this setup? I have built a similar system before, and I used a wireless router for the Eucon network only, and an additional 6 port unmanaged switch for the S1s and the Dock. That system works but is constantly needing to be reconfigured, like every day. I am wondering if I can use single device to connect the units and the WiFi Eucon network as well, and how to connect all four devices to the computer with one AC2600 router, if it is even possible.
Thanks!
Tom
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-31-2023, 09:06 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 633
Default Re: S1 recommended router

EDDIE RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks so much for jumping on here time and time again to help out customers.

Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-31-2023, 09:55 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,641
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat View Post
Hi Eddie! Thanks so much for your help. I have a simple question that you can likely easily answer. I am setting up a system with 3xS1 and a dock, each with a tablet. All the small routers I see have four LAN ports and one WAN, and a USB. How do I connect the four Avid devices to the computer with this setup? I have built a similar system before, and I used a wireless router for the Eucon network only, and an additional 6 port unmanaged switch for the S1s and the Dock. That system works but is constantly needing to be reconfigured, like every day. I am wondering if I can use single device to connect the units and the WiFi Eucon network as well, and how to connect all four devices to the computer with one AC2600 router, if it is even possible.
Thanks!
Tom
There are some but they are expensive. They are very good though and we use them in our test studio here.

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AX600...904010ad0&th=1

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09N6R2SLV...ding=UTF8&th=1
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 10-31-2023, 06:09 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: S1 recommended router

that's awesome. Thanks so much.
Today I came across a recommendation to set up a system using USB-C > POE adapters to hardwire the ipads. Do you have experience with this approach?
Anything that increases reliability would be great. It is quite tedious to rebuild the eucon network nearly every day.
Thanks!
Tom
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-04-2024, 04:09 PM
Thousand Words Thousand Words is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 23
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat View Post
that's awesome. Thanks so much.
Today I came across a recommendation to set up a system using USB-C > POE adapters to hardwire the ipads. Do you have experience with this approach?
Anything that increases reliability would be great. It is quite tedious to rebuild the eucon network nearly every day.
Thanks!
Tom
I set up static IPs on my tablets, and it improved response times etc...
I have had hardwire to ipads previously, and they were not as quick as the static IP.

+1 for the TPLink routers Eddie suggested.
On my system with 3 S1's, dock, 3 android tablets, 1 ipad I had one of those and it was smooth.
I ended up using a different one my assistant brought in, and returned the expensive TPLink. I often regret it. Others also work well, but that TPLink was trouble free.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-29-2024, 08:22 AM
beadmeister beadmeister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Posts: 3
Default Re: S1 recommended router

I have just setup my x3 S1s and Dock with 11in Amazon Firesticks. All is working well except...

I bought an adapter so that the tablets could connect to my ethernet whilst still charging but for some reason, when I connect the power it disables the ethernet which means I have to run the tablets off wifi which, of course, defeats the purpose.

I wonder if it is just the particular adapter I bought that prevents the amazons from charging while using ethernet but wondered if anyone had any ideas?

THIS is what I am using.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Router, Hub, Switch? pasanta Artist Series 1 08-02-2019 12:22 PM
What router are you guys using? JCBigler Artist Series 6 12-16-2018 04:48 PM
Which router? Shatzer Artist Series 3 08-09-2015 11:26 AM
Mix on Mac: Only Router as Workstation ??? peterle Artist Series 1 12-16-2012 09:11 AM
looking for a router baadc0de Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-10-2006 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com