Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2013, 11:34 AM
jsbeeth jsbeeth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Default Protools slow and sludgy after video import

Working on a scoring project in PT (v8 LE), and everything was fine with the first temp video file, but upon importing a new cut (same size, length, and file type [.mov] as the original), protools has become super slow and essentially unworkable. I've trashed prefs, and my system usage is only maxing out at around 25-30%, and I don't have a crazy track count or plugin load. It seems to be something about the new video file, but I'm not sure what it could be or what to do.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2013, 12:03 PM
lancemcv's Avatar
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 529
Default Re: Protools slow and sludgy after video import

Is it the same video codec / data rate as the first video? Open them in QuickTime and get info to see if they are, also check the frame rates. Try bringing in the old movie and see if its still better, if so its most likely the new movie has an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2013, 01:30 PM
jsbeeth jsbeeth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Protools slow and sludgy after video import

Yes, codec/data etc seems to be the same. Going back to previous session with the old movie works much better.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2013, 06:11 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Protools slow and sludgy after video import

is the original silent and the new one have audio?
there was a problem with Quicktimes that had audio around this vintage
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2013, 06:27 PM
jsbeeth jsbeeth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Protools slow and sludgy after video import

Both movie files had audio and as far as I could tell had nearly identical specs. In any case, they rebounced another file which seems to be working better, but I have no idea why! Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:22 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,413
Default Re: Protools slow and sludgy after video import

If it happens again, try remuxing the Quicktime to a Photo JPEG with no sound. PJPEG is pretty snappy with Pro Tools. Good luck.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Producer/Re-recording Mixer - New York
Nathaniel Reichman | IMDB | LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import video slow down Pro Tools danilaur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-14-2011 01:37 AM
Video import very slow... JR Fountain Post - Surround - Video 0 10-28-2009 06:19 AM
ProTools HD 7.4 - Can't import video file. HELP!!!!!! jayprotools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-09-2008 05:16 PM
Import video and audio slow CharlotteMichele Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-27-2007 07:46 AM
Protools LE Mbox2: Video Import ? afox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-02-2006 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com