Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2009, 01:43 PM
Ryan H Ryan H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Default User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

I have a Matrix that I send to an overflow room. I send the LR to the room, but in an effort to even out the levels between the music and the spoken word, I want to send a User Assigned channel through the Matrix in addition to the LR. I want to send the channel to the matrix post-fader so that when it's down in the LR Buss is is also down in the Matrix. It appears however that I am not able to do that. The only options I have are Top of Channel, Insert Return and Pre-Fader, the typical three options.

I am running v2.6.1, and eagerly awaiting 2.8.1 in hopes that my answer may be in that package. If you have any solutions, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2009, 01:46 PM
sonicboost sonicboost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Apex, North Carolina - USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

+1 on post-fader option for user-assignable channels in Matrix. I like it.

You should add that here:

http://avid.venue.ideascale.com/a/panel.do?id=5162
__________________
CONFIDENT IN CHRIST,
Eric Myers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2009, 03:09 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Hi Ryan,

Good news, you won't need to wait.

Here's how...

On the Options>Pickoffs page choose the "Post-fader" option under the Input Strip Fader Pickoff Point section. This is a global setting that affects all channels. You'll then see the post-fade option in the pulldown menu of the Matrix's User assignment panel.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2009, 06:03 AM
sonicboost sonicboost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Apex, North Carolina - USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Maybe I misunderstood his question, but I thought he was talking about just adding "post-fader' to the 'user-assigned' options for pick-off.
__________________
CONFIDENT IN CHRIST,
Eric Myers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2009, 09:15 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Hi Eric,

Since it's a global switch for all input channels it's not possible to have both a pre- and post-fade option at the same time. Ideally both would be offered, but in some cases a global approach (such as this) is needed in order to make the best use of the finite number of internal DSP connection points.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2009, 05:21 PM
Jason Stygar Jason Stygar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
Hi Ryan,

Good news, you won't need to wait.

Sheldon
I had known there was a way to do what the O/P had asked, but my mind read this phrase and thought, "Ohh 2.8.1!"

... I was let down...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2009, 09:21 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Oh, there's plenty in v2.8.1 to enjoy. VCA Spill is hours of entertainment on its own, and if you're a monitor engineer the Cue on Mains Fader feature is long overdue...



Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2009, 06:14 AM
Ryan H Ryan H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Unfortunately, making the switch globally won't work for my application, b/c I use my Direct Outs and require that the pick-off point be Post-Channel Processing, but Pre-Fader. I only require that the User Assigned Channels to Matrixes or PQ's be Post-Fader.

Does anyone know of any other creative solutions. As of now, I am burning a valuable Variable Group for this application, and feeding that into the Matrix, but if I could free that up, I'd prefer it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2009, 09:10 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

Hi Ryan,

The only difference between the Insert Return pickoff point and the Pre-Fader pickoff point is that the Pre-Fader pickoff point is also post-mute. Would it work to use the Insert Return pickoff point (i.e., pre-mute) for the Direct Outs? This would then allow you to use the global Post-fader setting for the user-assigned channels.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:16 PM
Ryan H Ryan H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Default Re: User Assign Matrix Ch sent Post-Fader?

I'll give that a shot. Thanks for the recommendation!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader Direct Assign jacko Artist Series 1 11-06-2010 04:55 PM
Matrix feed post delay? YellowDissident VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 08-12-2010 11:24 AM
ow do I assign groups to a fader in LE 7.4.2 dbluprecords 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-06-2009 12:07 PM
How to assign a fader to automate a plugin parameter?? teacherman ICON & C|24 5 03-04-2009 11:59 AM
Assign automation to a fader or knob on Digi002? jtbullitt Tips & Tricks 10 01-24-2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com