Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2001, 09:26 AM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default How do you keep selection after playback stops?

When I stop looped playback, I lose my region selection (I have to re-select the region). How can I set up PT so it keeps the selection even if playback is stopped?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2001, 10:08 AM
ppine ppine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chandler AZ, USA
Posts: 664
Default Re: How do you keep selection after playback stops?

I think you have "Insertion follows playback" selected in prefs...disable it, and I think that will do it..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2001, 10:31 AM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: How do you keep selection after playback stops?

Thanks ppine, that did it, but now I have another question. I initially selected "insertion follows playback" so that the playhead wouldn't return to the beginning of the region. Is there a way to set PT up so that it keeps the selection, but playback starts where you left off?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2001, 02:13 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: How do you keep selection after playback stops?

NO
SK
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2001, 02:16 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: How do you keep selection after playback stops?

Quote:
Originally posted by Noiz2:
NO
SK
OOPS I'm wrong already I think....If you have the time line select seperate from the edit select then have cursor folow playback you might have just what you want.
SK
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2001, 05:14 PM
lupe lupe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: la,ca,usa
Posts: 35
Default Re: How do you keep selection after playback stops?

Here’s how I deal with this. I turn off "insertion Chases Playback". I then go to "Setups" , ""Preferences" , "Editing" and turn off "Recall Original Track Selections". This is my default for my session. So it only needs to be done once.

I then go to select the potion in question and select it. Now capture a memory point. This is done by typing in a number followed by the "Enter" key (EX. "1[Enter] makes it Memory Location 1). Now you can recall this selection whenever you want.

Go ahead and hit play. If you hear something that you don’t like, hit the down arrow key BEFORE you stop the Pro Tools. This puts the insertion point near the offending sound. Now you can edit away. When your done and you want to go back to the top, recall your memory point. This is done by typing the number and the "." Key (Example. "1" [Enter]. This is a very flexible way to work in Pro Tools. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to punch a selection but start playback before the selection... shotgunndunn macOS 1 01-19-2012 05:45 PM
Playback stops at end of timeline selection? Blank Frank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-12-2009 01:36 PM
Selection stops play alexayr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 03-12-2009 07:07 AM
PTLE8 Playback stops at end of time selection? Blank Frank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-25-2009 09:55 PM
edit selection disappears when playback stops. what'd I do?! EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-29-2007 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com